Friday, August 4, 2017

Stephen King's The Dark Tower


www.thevirtualpew.com
Okay here goes, this will be one of those reviews that Pharisaic Christians will blast, put down, and on social media condemn and unfriend me for. Why? Because it is a review of the new Stephen King film The Dark Tower. Many will ask what in the world is a Christian reviewing such a horrible horror author like Stephen King for? Well I will tell you unapologetically, it is because horror tells a spiritual story like no other genera in my opinion. I also happen to think Stephen King often times tells a great story, mixed in with tons of spiritual symbolism, far more often than not pointing to the battle of good versus evil and in the case of The Dark Tower with symbolism that clearly points to a Messiah, Christ figure. I only wish that Stephen King could end a story as well as he tells it, there are times he does but I often find myself disappointed with the endings of the movies based on his stories.

The Dark Tower is loaded with star power, specifically Matthew McConaughey, Idris Elba, and Jackie Earle Haley among others. The movie is based on one of Stephen Kings most popular series of novels, The Dark Tower series.  King, while known for horror also writes some provocative thriller's. That is what The Dark Tower Series is, unfortunately, from the git-go, this shortened, 90 minute movie falls short in about every way imaginable with the exception of spiritual symbolism. 

www.thevirtualpew.com
Idris Elba is the primary actor playing the part of The Gunslinger. Elba first came to my attention in 2005 with his role in the wonderful film The Gospel, a modern day parable of The Prodigal Son. He has been in the press a lot lately for various reasons. His star power continues to rise and he was the reported replacement for Daniel Craig as James Bond in the 007 James Bond series. Unfortunately, at least at this time, Elba will not be taking on the job of Bond but he has enough star power to make the first weekend of The Dark Tower a contender for the weekends box office champion. Unfortunately, due to the lackluster story, and the convoluted editing and direction, I don't expect that will carry it past the first weekend.

The storyline in The Dark Tower is essentially void of plot and character development. It is as if Sony Pictures knew they had a flop of a movie and rushed it to screen to get what they could out of it as opposed to making the movie that King and the story itself deserved. 

www.thevirtualpew.comOne of the bright points, if not the only bright point of the movie is the spiritual symbolism which is heavily sprinkled throughout the story. There is enough of a story line to understand the classic battle of Good versus Evil. This is especially so in various ways such as, just as there is a division between Heaven and Hell, in the movie, there are different dimensions with ways to cross those dimensions involving if you will, heavenly forces seeking to either kill and destroy, or to save humanity. The Gunslinger, (Elba) is a Christ figure who alone can defeat the evil Man in Black, played by Matthew McConaughey. The Man in Black is a clear representation of Satan, he seeks to destroy earth and all of her inhabitants. He seeks to do so by using the innocence and power of children to ultimately destroy the Dark Tower, he knows once it is destroyed, destruction will reign down on earth. He uses demon like characters and evil disciples to carry out his commands. His primary obstacle is in finding and destroying an innocent and perfect child. Lucas Hanson, played by Nicholas Hamilton is that child, one who is not understood and picked on and abused in many ways. While he has a loving mother, he doesn't know his father, only a step-father. Nicholas realizes what is going on in the dimensions around him from the visions he has been having. He ultimately hooks up with The Gunslinger and together they join forces to save the earth and humanity.

www.thevirtualpew.comIn the story, just as in faith specific to Christianity, battles have to be fought and victories won, often those victories come at a cost. I won't give much away other than to say I did love the illustrations specific to giving oneself up to the protection and direction of a savior and the sacrifices that savior makes, including going through what resembles a water baptism, and taking marks onto both of his hands (strongly resembling crucifixion marks) to ultimately defeat evil after an apparent resurrection from the dead.

Over the years Stephen King has been heavily criticized by many Christians in particular for the "evil" they say he promotes, yet, in many of his stories there is strong Christian symbolism and that symbolism doesn't stop with The Dark Tower. I just wish there had been a story that had gone with it and better direction. In all honesty, the first thirty minutes of the movie for me was so boring that if I hadn't been there with a friend, and there for the purpose of reviewing the movie, I would have left the theater or gone to another movie.

The Dark Tower is not a good movie, it is not a movie I could encourage anyone to see. It is a movie

however that I would gladly bring up the spiritual symbolic points I have in my review here. My personal recommendation is that if you are a fan of the books, that at best pay for a matinee, or even better, waiting until the movie is streamed for free on your streaming provider of choice. I hate to give a bad review to a movie I was anticipating so much but the most horrific part of this movie, isn't the story, it is the movie itself.

On a scale of 1 - 10, for the 3 nails used to crucify Christ and the one spear that pierced his side, I give a very disappointing 4.



To see the trailer for the movie, click on the following video, if the link doesn't work, try the following url:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GjwfqXTebIY




The Virtual Pew and our other work is supported solely by the kind contributions of others. You can click on the donate button below to give any amount to this work that does so much more than just post articles on the net; I draw no ongoing salary from the ministry I do; I am grateful for any small amount you can contribute to help with this ministry and ongoing costs.  Believe me there is much more going on than most realize. I will also provide information to verify the ministry and income that comes into this ministry and work expenditures that go out.  Thanks and feel free to share any material from The Virtual Pew, I only ask that appropriate credit is given and a link to the original site with the materials provided.

Also be on the lookout for our new children's book coming out Winter of 2017 titled Herald The Angel. 

Click here to read about, and order the book, The Keystone Kid

http://www.mosaicwichita.com/#!store
Click here to visit the web page The Virtual Pew

Click here to follow The Virtual Pew on Twitter

Mike Furches on Faceboook.

Click here to visit Mosaic Church where Mike is Pastor

The Keystone Kid/Virtual Pew Message Boards

Click to subscribe to my blog

There are hundreds of postings so make sure to check out the archives. You can also contact me for a free audio book link of The Keystone Kid at mike@furches.org You can visit http://www.thevirtualpew.com/.

Hopefully, you will consider a gift to The Virtual Pew.

Now I get asked this quite often, Can we repost your blogs or articles? The short answer to that is, what an honor that you would ask, and by all means, spread the word. Here is our contact information

The Virtual Pew
1249 N. St. Francis
Wichita Kansas, 67214
Email: mike@furches.org

Click on the following links to learn more about The Virtual Pew

Donations to The Virtual Pew

The Virtual Pew Blog

Personal Furches Web Site


Reviews With Mike

The Virtual Pew Sermons

The Virtual Pew News

Thursday, August 3, 2017

War for the Planet of the Apes

www.thevirtualpew.com
A number of years ago I did a review at Hollywood Jesus on the reboot of Planet of the Apes.  The original movies goes back to my youth and has a special place in my heart. After putting my faith in place of priority in my life, the analogy of being delivered with heavy allegorical associations of Jesus and Moses has been abundantly clear from those early movies. I wrote about this to some extent in my original review of the initial reboot of the Planet of the Apes. My review on that page linked here can be seen by scrolling down the page.  Over the last number of years there has been a more successful reboot of the series and the apparent conclusion to that series, War for the Planet of the Apes, clearly continues that theme, of being delivered. That was abundantly clear in this movie in that immediately after my viewing, I heard several people sitting behind me, in a packed out movie house, some weeks into the movie being in theaters, talking about that very theme. Caesar was just like Moses, delivering his people from a place of captivity, both literal and spiritual, to a promised land.

War for the Planet of the Apes is an outstanding achievement in film. The CGI is so good that it was virtually impossible to distinguish whether the apes in the film are real or not.  There has to be a ton of credit given to the CGI and special effects crews, as well as the actors such as Andy Serkis. His portrayal of Caesar in this movie is one of the reasons the Academy needs to consider an award for roles of this nature. We can't stop there though, CGI and special effects alone should not be a driving force behind whether one sees a movie or not. There has to be story and other aspects to keep the viewer interested in more than just eye candy and on those levels, along with cinematography, a spectacular score, acting and thought provoking themes that has this 2 1/2 hour movie flying by as if one has just finished watching a 30-minute series on television, this movie delivers. 

www.thevirtualpew.comI must also comment on the supporting cast, the young girl, Amiah Miller who plays the human Nova is outstanding and she doesn't say a word the entire movie. Then there is the laugh out loud funny moments provided by Bad Ape played brilliantly to comedic perfection by Stephen Zahn. The only not quite up to par acting part is surprisingly done by Woody Harrelson who plays the human antagonist Colonel. Yet, while Harrelson is not quite up to his award winning performance, his part is so well written that in the end, you can't help but have gone through a wide gamut of emotions regarding his character. Tremendous credit has to also be given to the direction provided, Matt Reeves does an outstanding job.

www.thevirtualpew.comWhile War for the Planet of the Apes could stand as a stand alone movie, it is however beneficial to have seen the pervious renditions of this reboot. They help explore the entire journey these characters have been through and display the captivity, lack of understanding and imprisonment and treatment from the humans over the years. The apes are in many ways, an allegory of many in society who have been abused, not understood and taken advantage of. The movie illustrates the power of the many when they come together, it also illustrates though the importance of a leader who is often needed to bring the masses together.

As stated in the first part of this review, this movie, this story, is in many ways a retelling of the people of the Hebrews and their deliverance from bondage by Moses. It is also the story of a messiah figure who is willing to give up their lives, to make sacrifices for the ones they love. Just like in the Bible that messiah has disciples who will follow him until the end of the earth, even willing to give up their life in the process for the one they love, believe in and follow. There is ultimately the willingness to offer life to others despite their guilt. These are often ones which could be perceived as being worthy of death, yet, in that willingness of a messiah and his followers to ultimately offer love, with forgiveness, there is the love and willingness that will allow the individual to make the decisions they make, even if those decisions ultimately lead to death.  It is a free will decision being offered, not forced and ultimately on the receiver of that gift as to what to do with it.  

www.thevirtualpew.comThere is a reason that people who I have no idea who they are, are talking about the themes related to Moses and Christ after this movie. They are that clear and intentional. One only has to ask, will the metaphor used in the movie, which can be applied to our individual lives as a viewer be taken seriously? What route will we take regarding the decisions we are faced with on a daily basis, ones that can lead to serving, or intending to be served, ones that lead to freedom, or, will ultimately lead to imprisonment? Will we choose the paths before us that can lead to the promised land, the ones that lead to a spiritual and life freedom? 

www.thevirtualpew.comThose types of themes that make this movie well worth watching and thinking about. It is those themes that still has this movie doing extremely well in the theaters and thus, some weeks later, has me motivated to write about it. Is it worth seeing? You bet it is, even if you don't like stories of this type, or at least think you don't, you may find yourself pleasantly surprised at how good this movie is.

On a scale of 1 - 10, to take my last review of a movie which I gave a 6 to, I am turning this review upside down and giving this wonderful film a delightful 9.

 To see the extended video trailer for this movie, click on the video, if this doesn't work, try the following link:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ilhnNa-DrIk


The Virtual Pew and our other work is supported solely by the kind contributions of others. You can click on the donate button below to give any amount to this work that does so much more than just post articles on the net; I draw no ongoing salary from the ministry I do; I am grateful for any small amount you can contribute to help with this ministry and ongoing costs.  Believe me there is much more going on than most realize. I will also provide information to verify the ministry and income that comes into this ministry and work expenditures that go out.  Thanks and feel free to share any material from The Virtual Pew, I only ask that appropriate credit is given and a link to the original site with the materials provided.

Also be on the lookout for our new children's book coming out Winter of 2017 titled Herald The Angel. 

Click here to read about, and order the book, The Keystone Kid

http://www.mosaicwichita.com/#!store
Click here to visit the web page The Virtual Pew

Click here to follow The Virtual Pew on Twitter

Mike Furches on Faceboook.

Click here to visit Mosaic Church where Mike is Pastor

The Keystone Kid/Virtual Pew Message Boards

Click to subscribe to my blog

There are hundreds of postings so make sure to check out the archives. You can also contact me for a free audio book link of The Keystone Kid at mike@furches.org You can visit http://www.thevirtualpew.com/.

Hopefully, you will consider a gift to The Virtual Pew.

Now I get asked this quite often, Can we repost your blogs or articles? The short answer to that is, what an honor that you would ask, and by all means, spread the word. Here is our contact information

The Virtual Pew
1249 N. St. Francis
Wichita Kansas, 67214
Email: mike@furches.org

Click on the following links to learn more about The Virtual Pew

Donations to The Virtual Pew

The Virtual Pew Blog

Personal Furches Web Site


Reviews With Mike

The Virtual Pew Sermons

The Virtual Pew News

Wednesday, August 2, 2017

Bender, America's First Serial Killers?



www.thevirtualpew.com
This review of Bender is going to be somewhat tough, in fact, it may be one of the toughest reviews I have ever written because I have dear friends I love and value who worked on the movie. I must state, my reviews always have tried to be respectful of those who pay money to see a movie, I know how valuable a dollar can be and for that reason have an obligation to share what I think about a movie, even if having friends work on that movie.

The movie Bender is a retelling of a historical story that took place in Southeast Kansas during the 1870's. A family of individuals, some of whom were immigrants from Germany settled in Labette County and established a sort of respite and store for travelers out of their home where they offered lodging and sold staples. This family became known as what many have called America's first serial killers. The family consisted of John Bender, the father, his wife Elvira, their daughter Kate who was a reported psychic or spiritualist and a son John Bender. It was reported that it is likely that John and Kate Bender were actually husband and wife and only pretended at times to be brother and sister. The family would lure people into the house, place them in the seat of honor and then bludgeon them to death with a hammer from behind a curtain.  John and Kate were the primary individuals involved in the bludgeoning although some research shows that murders took place for many years in various locations by other members of the family. Unfortunately in the movie, John is a much younger brother of Kate.

The story is a fascinating one that many people haven't heard of, especially when concluding that there is no compelling evidence as to what happened to the family after they were discovered for the murders. What has come about is one of the great mysteries and stories of the American West and one of the first, if not the first incident of serial killers in American history.
www.thevirtualpew.com

Bender is an Independent Film that has been anticipated for many people over the last many years. Especially within the advent of the horror and thriller genera there has been little that deals with this time frame. For the willingness to finally take on the story, John Alexander and JC Guest have to be given credit for their willingness to bring the movie to viewers. It is a story many have looked forward to and a story worth telling.

Virtually everything about the film from a technical perspective is exciting to see, especially since knowing some of the people involved in the making of the film as well as knowing a bit about making film. Things that are usually terrible such as sound, lighting and so forth in Indie film is actually done quite well. I have to also give kudos to the willingness to shoot on location as the location and cinematography are a part of the story and done quite nicely. It is rare to see the quality of these things in a first time filmmakers independent film. It is here however, that the praise starts to have some drawbacks, for it is in the other areas that there are problems, problems that don't go so much towards things like the quality of acting as it does to the quality of script and directions those actors must have received.

For me the script and some of the acting was poorly done, it was as if the actors either had bad direction or were simply reading a script.  Knowing some of the actors in the film and the quality of acting they have done previously and since, I can't believe that they are responsible for the poor aspects in this area, but instead believe, it is largely from direction.  Even with discussions with some of the crew and actors, they expressed these concerns. One of the primary stars in the film I have had discussions with stated, "Well it was the first film for the director so he did as best as he could."  This actor knew that the film was weak in areas. The scripting and little dialog help contribute to that feeling.  While the film looks, and at times, sounds like a quality film, the script the actors have to work with and little dialog that actually takes place shows shortcuts that hinder the enjoyment of the movie, even with such a dark subject.

www.thevirtualpew.comOne has to question at times history as well as the relation one has with their neighbors. There has to also be questions of where does evil come from and how does one person impact another. Were all of the Benders prone to killing? Was it a learned behavior? What was it about their since of morality that justified the numerous murders they committed? While the movie hints at 11 or 12 murders, the family in reality was connected to as many as 21 murders and some speculate many more as there is some belief that if the family did escape the murders would have likely continued. There is also speculation that murders were committed prior to the episodes on the Southeast Prairie of Kansas.

One of the compelling aspects presented was the willingness of the community to come together, even against one of their own who had attended church on a regular basis and presented themselves as good, caring Godly people. There was a willingness of the community to stand up for what was right and to come together, of course it would be questionable as to the right way to do that, with or without a vigilante force would be one of the questions. As one looks at the history of these vigilante groups in the Bender case and the stories that came back one can also question the reasons people seek self serving attention the way they do but none of these fascinating concepts of the real story are covered. Others not addressed in the movie that would have made for more compelling story had to do with John Jr. being played by a young actor that is an obvious younger brother to Kate as opposed to the reality that many speculated and stated that John and Kate were actually married. There was the aspects of Kate's involvement in spiritualism and perceived prostitution. While these things are hinted at, at the relatively short 80 minutes the film lasts, there was much more to the story that could have been added.

www.thevirtualpew.comI wanted to like Bender, I love and am fascinated by the real story, I am pleased that some of those I know did a good job with what they had to work with, I would have just liked to have seen them given more. It isn't a "Gawd awful" project, but it is a movie that will have people wanting more.  Thankfully there is a lot about this family available with some simple research. Hopefully it is a story that a big budget production company or even a smaller Independent Film Company will give time to that it needs with a much deeper focus on the story will take on in the future. I expect that for many, this movie will fall a bit short. For me, my recommendation will be to either rent the movie via one of its sources or wait until it is available for free via streaming sources. Unfortunately, for me, I purchased the film via Amazon Streaming services through my Prime account. I am not horribly disappointed, but I am not overly thrilled about watching it again however. Until then, do some research, check out this fascinating story that many have never heard.

On a scale of 1 - 10 for the letters in my thought of 'just ok,' I give a somewhat disappointing 6


To see more about the Benders, Check out the following video by clicking on it. If the video doesn't work, click on the following link:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RLSiIPFFchk


To see the trailer for the film, click here:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w0s5lOHliQY



The Virtual Pew and our other work is supported solely by the kind contributions of others. You can click on the donate button below to give any amount to this work that does so much more than just post articles on the net; I draw no ongoing salary from the church I pastor, Mosaic Wichita which is predominantly a homeless church; I am grateful for any small amount you can contribute to help with this ministry.  Believe me there is much more going on than most realize. I will also provide information to verify the ministry and income that comes into this ministry and work.  Thanks and feel free to share any material from The Virtual Pew, I only ask that appropriate credit is given and a link to the original site with the materials provided.



Click here to read about, and order the book, The Keystone Kid

http://www.mosaicwichita.com/#!store
Click here to visit the web page The Virtual Pew

Click here to follow The Virtual Pew on Twitter

Mike Furches on Faceboook.

Click here to visit Mosaic Church where Mike is Pastor

The Keystone Kid/Virtual Pew Message Boards

Click to subscribe to my blog

There are hundreds of postings so make sure to check out the archives. You can also contact me for a free audio book link of The Keystone Kid at mike@furches.org You can visit http://www.thevirtualpew.com/.

Hopefully, you will consider a gift to The Virtual Pew.

Now I get asked this quite often, Can we repost your blogs or articles? The short answer to that is, what an honor that you would ask, and by all means, spread the word. Here is our contact information

The Virtual Pew
1249 N. St. Francis
Wichita Kansas, 67214
Email: mike@furches.org

Click on the following links to learn more about The Virtual Pew

Donations to The Virtual Pew

The Virtual Pew Blog

Personal Furches Web Site


Reviews With Mike

The Virtual Pew Sermons

The Virtual Pew News

Tuesday, June 6, 2017

Wonder Woman, 2017

Ever since I was a small boy, I have been a fan of superheroes.  I have read and purchased comics for close to 50 years now and have watched everything from television series, to old movie serials. animation and theatrical releases for as long as I can remember. With all of that as a backdrop, I have to say, I have just seen, what is in my opinion, my favorite superhero movie ever, Wonder Woman.

Wonder Woman is in many ways a testament to the power and potential of women, from the story to the terrific direction provided by Patty Jenkins, this movie is a tour de force of story, power and beyond that, the potential for all people, be they male or female. It is also a terrific testament to the power of love and the necessity at times of tough decisions that while they may not appear as love, are needed to bring about the potential of love to overcome hate.

Wonder Woman starts in a contemporary time which has Wonder Woman reflecting over an old photo. From that point, the movie goes to the origins of Wonder Woman and her involvement in helping win World War 1.  During this timeframe we see glimpses of Wayne Enterprises, (a part of the Bruce Wayne (AKA Batman) and her own history, origins and so forth. The movie does a terrific job of weaving these time frame issues into the story and we don't return to the present again until the end of the movie when we see her writing an email to Bruce Wayne. It becomes clear, this is a set up for future movies and her introduction into The Justice League which will bring DC characters together to fight crime in much the same way we saw with characters from Marvel in The Avengers.

Gal Gadot plays the lead as Wonder Woman. This Israeli actress has been featured in other movies such as the Fast and the Furious series but for all practical purposes this is her first lead in a major motion picture as the primary actor. This former Ms. Israel is terrific in this role. Not only is she easy to look at, she is a terrific actress who handles all of the difficulties of the role to a tee. Chris Pine, her co-star plays the part of Steve Trevor. Trevor is a character who has a tendency to go rogue at times in order to do what is right. The chemistry between Gadot and Pine is not only entertaining , but at times, comical and romantic. Both actors play their parts wonderfully.

The movies plot is terrific, there is a wonderful score and sound track and as expected the special effects are terrific, but what I wasn't quite expecting was terrific cinematography in the film. The cinematography at times mirrors art you may expect from a museum and is more beautiful than many would expect in a movie like this. After all, movies like this are normally all about action, forget story and imagery except for some of the special effects, yet, on all fronts, Wonder Woman delivers a package that should thrill movie goers of all types, whether they like superhero movies or not.

Among the things I most appreciated about Wonder Woman was the terrific imagery and story   All through the movie there are references that one can see not only social significance, whether it be the role of women and the advancement of women's rights over the years, to even spiritual, where we even see Wonder Woman as a Messiah figure. We see images of her in what are called crucifixion scenes.  This is nothing new though, those crucifixion scenes are prevalent in many superhero stories and comics, including Wonder Woman. We also see terrific examples of sacrifice, sacrifice that involves the giving of one's life. I was reminded of the verse in the Bible that states:  "The greatest way to show love for friends, is to die for them."  John 15:13.  In that message of loving and serving others, comes in many ways what I see as the greatest message of the movie, Wonder Woman.
presented.

In Wonder Woman we see the power of hate, yet, we also see the power of love. It is in the willingness to come together that we see the ability to bring about change. That power comes from the collective of all involved to do what is right, while at the same time, to allow each individual within the collective to use their strengths, or as described in the movie, just as it is in the Bible, their gifts. While we see Wonder Woman struggle with the evils of war, we also see her recognizing that there are times to take action to bring about the change that may be needed. In that ability to bring about change, she understands how to bring people together and to recognize and acknowledge the gifts that each person has. We see a powerful message here that is relevant in today's world, especially with the political hatred that seems to exist.

In Wonder Woman we see that love for the whole includes involving people coming together to accomplish good. This is especially needed when so much evil exists. Of course it is not always easy to look at and determine what one believes to be evil but as is illustrated in this movie, when there are those that seek to destroy anything good, then differences have to be overcome to fight that which is, evil. It is in the coming together that we reverse the concept from evil to live. We can only live when we come together, yet we so often become so preoccupied with the things around us, our individual desires, that we forget about the needs of the collective. When and if self becomes so important that we ignore the need to come together to accomplish good then we only contribute to the evil around us. From a contemporary perspective, I couldn't help but think while watching this, what if the Trump haters, the Hillary haters, the Obama haters, the whatever haters came together to bring about good in what ways they can as opposed to continuing to find reasons to hate.

I will reiterate, Wonder Woman was for me in a surprising way, the best superhero movie I have seen. That isn't to put others down, but it is to say this is one terrific film. One I fully expect to see again, and again over the years to come. 

There are few films I consider virtually perfect but this film accomplishes that purpose for me. For the number of letters there are in the word incredible, I give this incredible film on a scale of 1 - 10 a 10.

To see the trailer for Wonder Woman, just click on the following video, if the video doesn't appear, click on the link.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VSB4wGIdDwo



The Virtual Pew and our other work is supported solely by the kind contributions of others. You can click on the donate button below to give any amount to this work that does so much more than just post articles on the net; I draw no ongoing salary from the church I pastor, Mosaic Wichita which is predominantly a homeless church; I am grateful for any small amount you can contribute to help with this ministry.  Believe me there is much more going on than most realize. I will also provide information to verify the ministry and income that comes into this ministry and work.  Thanks and feel free to share any material from The Virtual Pew, I only ask that appropriate credit is given and a link to the original site with the materials provided.



Click here to read about, and order the book, The Keystone Kid

http://www.mosaicwichita.com/#!store
Click here to visit the web page The Virtual Pew

Click here to follow The Virtual Pew on Twitter

Mike Furches on Faceboook.

Click here to visit Mosaic Church where Mike is Pastor

The Keystone Kid/Virtual Pew Message Boards

Click to subscribe to my blog

There are hundreds of postings so make sure to check out the archives. You can also contact me for a free audio book link of The Keystone Kid at mike@furches.org You can visit http://www.thevirtualpew.com/.

Hopefully, you will consider a gift to The Virtual Pew.

Now I get asked this quite often, Can we repost your blogs or articles? The short answer to that is, what an honor that you would ask, and by all means, spread the word. Here is our contact information

The Virtual Pew
1249 N. St. Francis
Wichita Kansas, 67214
Email: mike@furches.org

Click on the following links to learn more about The Virtual Pew

Donations to The Virtual Pew

The Virtual Pew Blog

Personal Furches Web Site


Reviews With Mike

The Virtual Pew Sermons

The Virtual Pew News

Friday, April 28, 2017

The Promise, The Armenian Genocide

www.thevirtualpew.com
While rare, there are those moments I walk into a theater knowing nothing about the movie I am about to see. Recently one such incident occurred. there were two new movies I hadn't seen and decided that from what I had seen from the trailers and from the movie poster in the lobby that my wife would likely enjoy one more than the other, so, we decided to see The Promise.

The Promise was released on the festival circuit late 2016 and was just released into the theaters this last week. I will be honest, I knew nothing of the story, didn't know what to expect and after seeing it, am wondering if sometimes, maybe, just maybe, the feelings one has about a movie is expanded on in situations like this, whether the movie is good, or bad. If it is true, and I expect there is a measure of truth to it, The Promise is one of the best, if not the best movie I have seen in the last few years. I was shocked, moved and intrigued by this incredible story.

The Promise is a period piece that takes place in the early stages of World War One. The story takes place in Turkey and has to do with the Muslim Sect of Turkey and their attempt to largely eradicate and wipe out the Armenian Christians within their country. This attempt known as the Armenian Genocide is a little-known part of history within many circles, it is certainly a historical concept I personally knew little about.

www.thevirtualpew.comThe Promise is directed by one of our world's great directors, Terry George, noted for such important historical dramas as Hotel Rwanda and In The Name of the Father. His direction here is just as expected, outstanding.  The story also partially written by George takes us on an epic journey that one will not soon forget after seeing the movie.

Mikael Boghosian, played brilliantly by Oscar Isaac is a young man who desires to be a doctor and has to travel to Constantinople to attend medical school. In order to attend school he accepts a dowry from the family of the woman he loves, Maral played by Armenian, Angela Sarafyan. Mikael leaves the family and his betrothed behind to attend school. While in Constantinople he stays with a family member who has as a teacher for his children, Ana played beautifully by Charlotte Le Bon. Ana is in a relationship with American AP reporter Chris Myers played by Christian Bale. As things progress, there is a sort of love triangle that develops between Chris, Mikael, and Ana. It becomes clear that Ana and Mikael are truly in love and while Chris loves and sees what is going on between the two he is preoccupied with the events of the day, largely, the efforts of the Turkish Ottoman government's to wipe the Armenians from the face of the earth.  Caught up in the attempt to destroy the Armenians we see these characters story, as well as a friend of Mikael from medical school, a Muslim member of the Ottoman government, Emre Ogan played by Marwan Kenzari begin to develop and take shape. What transpires in that story is a historically epic story with a backdrop of love and faith. Not since Dr. Zhivago have I seen a story like this played out on the screen so brilliantly.

Seeds of faith, service, love and helping the least fortunate are sprinkled so heavily in this film that one would be mistaken to not take notice. From pivotal scenes in churches, among mission groups to the willingness to sacrifice life to save innocents and those in need we see these images sprinkled with images of Jesus, the cross and much more. While The Promise could have taken a heavy-handed approach to show the negative involvement of many Muslims in this world, during this time, it doesn't. One of the pivotal heroes of the story is in fact, a Muslim whose sacrificial actions save many lives. In his friendship with an Armenian Christian, we see the power of friendship which came about from sharing a mutual interest and a willingness to communicate and get to know a person of a differing belief.

www.thevirtualpew.comThere are many tragic, difficult scenes to watch in the Promise, I couldn't help but think of contemporary and current refugee issues that are going on in our world right now and the sacrifices of those seeking refuge. The Promise does a terrific job at illustrating those images to the point that one can't help but think of the difficulties that continue in our world today. Yet, in this, I am also reminded that many are even now unaware of this particular historical tragedy, and then, there is the attempt of many to pollute the story and keep others from seeing this movie. There is no better reminder of this than what can be seen taking place currently by reading the reviews by viewers on the IMDB page.

When doing research for some movies I go check out the IMDB page after seeing a movie, so it was I did with The Promise. When doing so I was shocked at the overwhelming majority of recent reviews since the movie came out of the very high ratings given the movie by viewers, it is in fact, if looking at those reviews, one of the highest rated and reviewed movies I have ever seen on this particular page. However, with a tad bit of research one can also easily see that there was what appears to be an organized effort prior to the release of this movies to critique and condemn the movie, prior to anyone seeing it. As a result, the true score or review from viewers at IMDB are not nearly as high as it would be if only reviewed by people who have seen the movie. I make mention of this for a couple of reasons, one, to let you know the movie is far better than is initially indicated from what appears to be some fan reviews, the other though, to let you know, apparently there is a large segment of society that still does not want to let people know about the atrocities that took place during the Armenian Genocide. Racism, prejudice, and hatred still exist to the point that like the White Supremacist who doesn't want to accept the reality of the Jewish Genocide during World War 2, some don't want to accept similar actions to exterminate the Christian Armenians during World War 1. 

I initially thought this movie would be boring, it is long and has a focus more on story than it does action, although there is a lot of action and intrigue. I was, however, never bored and despite being tired when I went to the movie, never lost interest.  I was so intrigued that I ended up doing research on the period of history and the Armenian Genocide from a historical perspective. While I am far from educated to the point I would like to be, the movie inspired me to learn more and I am far more knowledgeable now than I was prior to the movie.  

www.thevirtualpew.comThere is so much I would like to say about this film, it so vividly illustrates the concepts of my faith like when true love is willing to lay down one's life for another. Then the concept that real life is not always wonderful, sometimes in doing great things for others we realize that sacrifices must be made and sometimes there is a horrific cost to that sacrifice, which may or may not has any value in the long run. I was so moved by the reminder that in my faith, I live a life within a faith that thankfully realizes that it rains on the just and the unjust, so unlike some within my faith who likes to pretend that nothing bad ever happens in the life of a Christian, when in reality, sometimes it does, and there are those within my faith practice that have had to pay a horrible cost for their faith which is lived out by their actions. A Christian worldview is presented as opposed to an American Christian worldview which is in so many ways not always a real part of a faith that transcends outside of American view points.

I can't recommend this movie high enough, it is exceptional. It is so exceptional that it will enter my top 100 films of all time, likely in the top 25. It is rare as well, because it is as perfect, in as many ways as one can imagine. It is for that reason, that for me, The Promise enters a rare and truly Epic place as it is truly an Epic film in the tradition of a Dr. Zhivago or other films of the era. For the number of letters in The Promise, on a scale of 1 - 10, I give a rare, and well deserved 10 for this incredible film.

To see the trailer for this film, just click on the video below, if for some reason the video doesn't work, try the link.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gnwgMYeaqr4


I also highly recommend this video to see some of the controversy regarding the film. The interview from Charley Rose follows the trailer of the film.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U9xInkOO5Xs



The Virtual Pew and our other work is supported solely by the kind contributions of others. You can click on the donate button below to give any amount to this work that does so much more than just post articles on the net; I draw no ongoing salary from the church I pastor, Mosaic Wichita which is predominantly a homeless church; I am grateful for any small amount you can contribute to help with this ministry.  Believe me there is much more going on than most realize. I will also provide information to verify the ministry and income that comes into this ministry and work.  Thanks and feel free to share any material from The Virtual Pew, I only ask that appropriate credit is given and a link to the original site with the materials provided.



Click here to read about, and order the book, The Keystone Kid

http://www.mosaicwichita.com/#!store
Click here to visit the web page The Virtual Pew

Click here to follow The Virtual Pew on Twitter

Mike Furches on Faceboook.

Click here to visit Mosaic Church where Mike is Pastor

The Keystone Kid/Virtual Pew Message Boards

Click to subscribe to my blog

There are hundreds of postings so make sure to check out the archives. You can also contact me for a free audio book link of The Keystone Kid at mike@furches.org You can visit http://www.thevirtualpew.com/.

Hopefully, you will consider a gift to The Virtual Pew.

Now I get asked this quite often, Can we repost your blogs or articles? The short answer to that is, what an honor that you would ask, and by all means, spread the word. Here is our contact information

The Virtual Pew
1249 N. St. Francis
Wichita Kansas, 67214
Email: mike@furches.org

Click on the following links to learn more about The Virtual Pew

Donations to The Virtual Pew

The Virtual Pew Blog

Personal Furches Web Site


Reviews With Mike

The Virtual Pew Sermons

The Virtual Pew News

Wednesday, April 12, 2017

Netfix's, I Don't Feel At Home In This World Anymore

www.thevirtualpew.com

I was recently talking with friends Bob and Andy Lutz on Wichita's 1240 AM and 97.5 FM KFH Radio where I am a frequent guest as The Movie and TV Guy.  I have done a lot of reviews for movies, but as we spoke on a recent show, television has come a long way, especially with the growth of various television networks. One of the shows we spoke about was The Walking Dead, I mentioned that I had never missed an episode of The Walking Dead, Fear the Walking Dead, or Chris Hardwick and The Talking Dead Series. Hardwick has just started a new show titled, Talking with Chris Hardwick. On his first episode, he had as a guest, from the Lord of the Rings fame, Elijah Wood.  During their interview, they spoke of a new movie that Wood has done with Melanie Lynskey known for her work in such things as Togetherness, Heavenly Creatures and much more.  This little-known actress has received high praise for her work and the movie she and Wood did together, I Don't Feel At Home In This World Anymore, sounded quite intriguing so I decided to check it out.

One of the things that disturbed me off the bat in my research was some of the bad reviews the movie had received despite winning The Grand Jury Prize at Sundance. I also didn't understand since the movie was written and directed by Macon Blair who has a cameo in the movie. Blair is a well-respected actor for his work in such thrillers as Blue Ruin among others. So it was with some skepticism that I decided to check out this movie on Netflix, and boy, was I glad I did.

www.thevirtualpew.comI Don't Feel At Home In This World Anymore is a strange little flick that knows the importance of building characters but thankfully, it also knows the importance of using quirky characters to tell its story. Lynskey plays a nurse named Ruth. After a rather strange day at work, she comes home only to discover that her home has been robbed. One of her neighbors, who thinks he is a martial arts expert happens to be Tony, played very nicely by Elijah Wood. Tony and Ruth come to know each other as Tony walks his dog and it happens to poop in her yard each day. These two unlikely people end up working together to try and discover who it is that has robbed her residence, especially since they seem to get little effective response from the local police department.

What happens from this interaction, their investigation, takes all kinds of twists and turns and as a result, we have one of the better dark comedies I have seen in some time. The last thirty minutes or so is so intense one can't hardly take their eyes off the screen, mainly because we can't believe what we are seeing and we have had the characters developed to an extent that we care about them, despite their quirky nature. They are characters many of us can relate to in some ways because of our own quirkiness.

www.thevirtualpew.comIn this little film, we see the potential for those who come from different walks coming together, developing friendships and legitimately caring for each other. I am also impressed with the concepts of not giving up, taking the world around us into our own hands and following through for the things we want. Of course in that, we also see that sometimes, just as in real life, there are consequences we pay for that. 

I also appreciated the surprising hints in the film of the importance of faith in our journey, whether thinking of or hearing an old hymn, thinking about the role of God, or even the need of the Church in important emotional aspects of life. It is all hinted at, spoken of and at times forced on the viewer in a way that if they will but open their minds to the imagery used, will get it and think about it.

This little Indie film has some nice cinematography, great sound, a pretty good soundtrack, along with some great acting and direction and a rather wonderful script that I happened to love. While it isn't a perfect film, it was for me, very close and as exciting as anything I have seen in awhile. I honestly felt as good about this movie as I did Get Out after seeing it, and for this reviewer, with the bad I have to review at times, this was a very nice surprise.

www.thevirtualpew.comAs I mentioned in the first bit of my review here, I am impressed with what we are seeing on television now, and the advent of the likes of Amazon Prime, Netflix and others we are seeing some originality. While some complain about the redundancy and remakes on the big screen, there are great new story lines, with great actors and great direction that is taking place in this mode of entertainment. It is this type of thing that makes my own subscription to Amazon Prime, and in this case, Netflix worth it.

If you have Netflix, check this little gem out, especially if you enjoy off the wall characters and story. This little thriller delivers, and for those who don't feel at home in this world anymore, you will appreciate all of the little innuendos and commentary throughout the film as I am certain, you will find something about the quirkiness of these characters and the story you can relate to and appreciate.

On a scale of 1 - 10 for the number of letters in the title of this movie, I Don't Feel At Home In This World Anymore, I give a very deserving, 9. 

To see the trailer for this film, just click on the following video, if the video doesn't appear, click on the following link.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yR9F95D2TNw


The Virtual Pew and our other work is supported solely by the kind contributions of others. You can click on the donate button below to give any amount to this work that does so much more than just post articles on the net; I draw no ongoing salary from the church I pastor, Mosaic Wichita which is predominantly a homeless church; I am grateful for any small amount you can contribute to help with this ministry.  Believe me there is much more going on than most realize. I will also provide information to verify the ministry and income that comes into this ministry and work.  Thanks and feel free to share any material from The Virtual Pew, I only ask that appropriate credit is given and a link to the original site with the materials provided.



Click here to read about, and order the book, The Keystone Kid

http://www.mosaicwichita.com/#!store
Click here to visit the web page The Virtual Pew

Click here to follow The Virtual Pew on Twitter

Mike Furches on Faceboook.

Click here to visit Mosaic Church where Mike is Pastor

The Keystone Kid/Virtual Pew Message Boards

Click to subscribe to my blog

There are hundreds of postings so make sure to check out the archives. You can also contact me for a free audio book link of The Keystone Kid at mike@furches.org You can visit http://www.thevirtualpew.com/.

Hopefully, you will consider a gift to The Virtual Pew.

Now I get asked this quite often, Can we repost your blogs or articles? The short answer to that is, what an honor that you would ask, and by all means, spread the word. Here is our contact information

The Virtual Pew
1249 N. St. Francis
Wichita Kansas, 67214
Email: mike@furches.org

Click on the following links to learn more about The Virtual Pew

Donations to The Virtual Pew

The Virtual Pew Blog

Personal Furches Web Site


Reviews With Mike

The Virtual Pew Sermons

The Virtual Pew News








Kari Jobe's The Garden CD Release

www.thevirtualpew.com
I was recently given the opportunity to review Kari Jobi's new CD, The Garden Deluxe Edition, I was excited to review this as I had greatly enjoyed her previous work, Majestic. It was eclectic, up beat and something I wouldn't mind listening to over and over. So it was with excitement I listened to The Garden.

The Garden Deluxe Edition starts off quite nicely, albeit a bit too much electronic music for me. I understand that is a stylistic issue which one either likes or doesn't but there is a definite worship style within the style that has been built on her experience as a worship leader. It was her work within the Christian market that ultimately had her being nominated for a Grammy Award for Best Contemporary Christian Album and 4 nominations for the Christian version, The Dove Awards of which she won 3 Doves.

In my experience with Christian music from both a reviewer since the early 1980's and with working in the music industry since that time there is definitely a place for the Christian audience and The Garden will appeal to that audience. It has some great worship tunes that are easy to listen to and can easily lead one into an attitude of worship. As to a non Christian or non follower of Jesus, the project will be something they don't quite get as it is most definitely a project specifically directed towards the Christian audience, it is if you will a Christineeze (speaking in the language primarily only Christians understand) project. I don't blame Jobi for that, she and her handlers most likely understand this is her market. There are other artist however, like Mary Kathryn who have taken on this role but the music keeps the attention and the vocal variations for the non Christian audience can be entertaining. In that regard Jobi's project is a bit lacking.

www.thevirtualpew.comI found myself experiencing a bit of monotony as I listened to this CD a number of times. That feeling was supported by others who listened with me with comments like "I like the songs, but after awhile it all sound the same."  That has me at a strange place as I review this project, while I am a fan, one that loves her previous work, I find myself loving two or three songs at a time but after that, so it sounds so much alike. I think this is for a variety of reasons. The project seems to be heavily driven by electronics and studio effects along with the same vocal and musical styles. I personally prefer that live sound, feeling and variety included in the production and mixing process. I just don't feel that, in some ways it falls as short for me as another artist I love, Amy Grant, whose electronic remix of her hits was somewhat of a travesty.  While The Garden is a ways from being a travesty, it is quite good with highlights in individual songs, it is just repetitive and in my opinion not her best work.

I think the CD will do quite well because each song on its own is quite nice and acceptable for radio air play but accumulatively, as a whole, it falls short for me and those who listened to it as a collective with me agreed. Again, please understand, not because it is bad, it is just so repetitive.

www.thevirtualpew.comI know there are Christians as mentioned earlier who have excelled in the worship style who have found a way to draw in the non-Christian listener. This is a great thing to work towards as I believe this also allows the non-Christian to get a taste of what following Jesus is all about. One can see and hear a sincerity in the music, lyrics, and yes, delivery of the song. Jobe does a great job, but the non-Christian listener is one I believe who also needs more instead of less in some regards. King David is a perfect example in his writings of the Psalm's. Many around the world, even those from varying faith groups read and memorize those passages because they hold so true to the things in life they are going through. For many, the agony, difficulty and hard times is as much a part of the worship experience as the "Praise God" concepts are for others. Unfortunately, we focus within Christendom sometimes more on the "Praise God" parts and entertainment aspect for each other than we do with an understanding of those hurting, even Christians, often surrounding us. It is for this reason, among others, that I would have preferred more than I got. 

On a scale of 1 - 10, I just found this CD to unfortunately be somewhat mediocre, so for that reason, I given a mediocre 5.

To hear a sample of the album, click on the video below, if the video doesn't appear, click on the link.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u3Dtnaie4KY&index=1&list=PLbkVEAucwstu7tQHLNHMQCOVLrAoMd-qm



The Virtual Pew and our other work is supported solely by the kind contributions of others. You can click on the donate button below to give any amount to this work that does so much more than just post articles on the net; I draw no ongoing salary from the church I pastor, Mosaic Wichita which is predominantly a homeless church; I am grateful for any small amount you can contribute to help with this ministry.  Believe me there is much more going on than most realize. I will also provide information to verify the ministry and income that comes into this ministry and work.  Thanks and feel free to share any material from The Virtual Pew, I only ask that appropriate credit is given and a link to the original site with the materials provided.



Click here to read about, and order the book, The Keystone Kid

http://www.mosaicwichita.com/#!store
Click here to visit the web page The Virtual Pew

Click here to follow The Virtual Pew on Twitter

Mike Furches on Faceboook.

Click here to visit Mosaic Church where Mike is Pastor

The Keystone Kid/Virtual Pew Message Boards

Click to subscribe to my blog

There are hundreds of postings so make sure to check out the archives. You can also contact me for a free audio book link of The Keystone Kid at mike@furches.org You can visit http://www.thevirtualpew.com/.

Hopefully you will consider a gift to The Virtual Pew.

Now I get asked this quite often, Can we repost your blogs or articles? The short answer to that is, what an honor that you would ask, and by all means, spread the word. Here is our contact information

The Virtual Pew
1249 N. St. Francis
Wichita Kansas, 67214
Email: mike@furches.org

Click on the following links to learn more about The Virtual Pew

Donations to The Virtual Pew

The Virtual Pew Blog

Personal Furches Web Site


Reviews With Mike

The Virtual Pew Sermons

The Virtual Pew News








Wednesday, April 5, 2017

Theatrical Release, The Case For Christ



www.thevirtualpew.com
In 1998 Lee Strobel wrote the book, A Case for Christ. Strobel is former reporter for the Chicago Tribune, with a journalism degree from The University of Missouri and a Masters of Studies in Law from Yale Law School, Strobel prior to writing the book was also a devout Atheist. Shortly after his marriage, and while working at the Chicago Tribune he began to question the claims of Christianity shortly after his wife became a born-again Christian.  As a result of his research from the book, he interviewed 13 Evangelical Christian Scholars regarding their defense of Christianity. After the process, Strobel later on became a Christian who was convinced with the evidence that he had studied and discussed with scholars from various groups, including non-Christians as to the resurrection of Jesus. He later on went to serve as one of the pastors at Willow Creek, one of America's largest churches. As a disclaimer, I interviewed and was offered a position at Willow Creek as Pastor of the Harvest Division Ministries prior to 9/11/2001. After the terrorist attacks that opening was no longer available due to funding issues. I also initially met Strobel at a Leadership Conference at Willow Creek around 2008 / 2009.  I have been a fan of his writings for some time and have promoted them from an apologetic perspective for some of my friends looking for truth as to the evidence of Jesus Christ.

Pure-Flix is a film production company that has of late been making numerous Christian films, some of them have done well at the box-office and as a result, they decided to work with Strobel to make this film.  Strobel told me in an interview that he agreed only after making sure he could dictate the director of the film and the screenwriters to ensure that they got the story right. I am convinced that Stroble's involvement in the process is one of the reasons A Case for Christ comes across as nicely as it does. I have had issues with some of the earlier, and heavy handed films done by Pure-Flix but as of late they seem to be doing a much better job and the production of their movies, A Case for Christ helps illustrate their journey in a positive direction.

A Case for Christ is in many ways as much of a love story as it is an Evangelical film trying to prove its supports of Jesus Christ as the Son of God. It presents the struggles of Strobel during his search and investigations. His character is played nicely by Mike Vogel, known for his television work and on such films as Cloverfield, The Help, and The Texas Chainsaw Massacre and numerous others. Erika Christensen known for her work in the films Parenthood, Swimfan and others does a nice job as Strobel's wife Leslie. The chemistry between the two actors and supporting cast contributes a great deal to the quality of the movie. One of the things this film also does is not become so preachy that it turns off those in the non-Christian audience.

A Case for Christ presents in an honest way, an honest search for the truth regarding Jesus Christ and his claims to be the Son of God. I suspect many Christian's, just as in the God's Not Dead movies will appreciate and support this movie, as to whether the movie has the potential to reach across and bring in the nonreligious community is yet to be seen. It deserves that audience and it deserves an open and honest discussion regarding the conclusions of the film. I suspect the film also has the potential to continue to divide people of faith and the non-Christian community, if however, people are open to an open and honest discussion, with mutual respect for each other, the film also has the potential to open up dialog regarding the serious issues of faith specific to the person of Jesus Christ. I will note, the film does not go into a great deal of detail as to the specifics of the conclusions Strobel came to, it instead gives a taste of that research and focuses more on the story of the relationship with his wife and his own struggles. I would personally recommend, that if wanting more detail as to his findings then one can easily pick up the book A Case for Christ or any number of other books that Strobel has written.

I have to comment on the insistence that Strobel made the film as an honest portrayal of himself and what he was like during that time of his life. It took courage to do this as there are times Strobel, prior to his becoming a Christian comes off as nothing less than a jerk. While I met him a number of years ago, I found that aspect of his life as surprising as the time spent with him when I met him, as well as the time I spent interviewing him for this film, he came across as a pleasant, easy to get along with guy who takes his faith seriously but also has a respect, appreciation and legitimate concern for those he spends time with, despite their religious beliefs or lack thereof. While he may have critics due to the actions of many Christians who use his material, his actions and respect is noteworthy and something that should also be followed by those who read his books.

A Case for Christ is not a great film, it is however for Pure-Flix one of their best films and compared to other theatrical film releases holds its on as an entertaining, thought-provoking story that has the viewer caring for the characters and thinking about the subject matter covered. For that reason, I can recommend the film and would have no difficulty watching and discussing it with any of my friends, Christian or not. 

On a scale of 1 - 10, for the number of letters, there are in the name of a man I like now more than ever, Strobel, I give a deserving and entertaining 7.

To see the trailer for the film click on the following video, if the video does not appear, follow the link.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rhe8KhSxWGo




My review with Lee regarding the movie and other things:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1P9ou1ihVPg&feature=youtu.be




The Virtual Pew and our other work is supported solely by the kind contributions of others. You can click on the donate button below to give any amount to this work that does so much more than just post articles on the net; I draw no ongoing salary from the church I pastor, Mosaic Wichita which is predominantly a homeless church; I am grateful for any small amount you can contribute to help with this ministry.  Believe me there is much more going on than most realize. I will also provide information to verify the ministry and income that comes into this ministry and work.  Thanks and feel free to share any material from The Virtual Pew, I only ask that appropriate credit is given and a link to the original site with the materials provided.



Click here to read about, and order the book, The Keystone Kid

http://www.mosaicwichita.com/#!store
Click here to visit the web page The Virtual Pew

Click here to follow The Virtual Pew on Twitter

Mike Furches on Faceboook.

Click here to visit Mosaic Church where Mike is Pastor

The Keystone Kid/Virtual Pew Message Boards

Click to subscribe to my blog

There are hundreds of postings so make sure to check out the archives. You can also contact me for a free audio book link of The Keystone Kid at mike@furches.org You can visit http://www.thevirtualpew.com/.

Hopefully you will consider a gift to The Virtual Pew.

Now I get asked this quite often, Can we repost your blogs or articles? The short answer to that is, what an honor that you would ask, and by all means, spread the word. Here is our contact information

The Virtual Pew
1249 N. St. Francis
Wichita Kansas, 67214
Email: mike@furches.org

Click on the following links to learn more about The Virtual Pew

Donations to The Virtual Pew

The Virtual Pew Blog

Personal Furches Web Site


Reviews With Mike

The Virtual Pew Sermons

The Virtual Pew News