Tuesday, September 17, 2013

Interview with Kirk Cameron



Over the years I have had the opportunity to interview and meet many celebrities, sometimes athletes, actors, musicians and I have to admit, there are times I get a little giddy. I heard about an opportunity with Kirk Cameron and to be honest about it, it was at first a so so moment. I have never really been a fan of Cameron’s, never seen an episode of Growing Pains and haven’t been the biggest fan of The Way of the Master. Unfortunately, the movies I had seen him in with Christian themes were disappointing. I was among the throngs of people looking forward to the release of The Left Behind movies and was extremely disappointed with the overall quality of the movies once they were released. While Cameron did a fair job in his biggest hit, Fireproof, I was still disappointed with other components of the film including the many in the supporting cast. It was watchable though which was more than I could say about The Left Behind movies. Despite my own feelings about Cameron’s work which I had seen what I soon learned when releasing the news of my upcoming interview with him was that he had a huge following. It wasn’t that I didn’t like him; I just wasn’t a fan. 

His new project Unstoppable was something that looked interesting to me; it is to be a one night only theatrical event which focuses on the question of when bad things happen to good people in a documentary style. In my own experiences in sharing my faith it is without a doubt one of the most asked questions of people who are going through tough times, or seeking to question the reality of God. The trailers for this project look promising and Cameron is intriguing in the small bits of the film I have seen. So I begin my efforts to prepare for the Cameron interview. I asked my friends what they would ask, complied some of their questions with mine and proceeded to talk to him. While the interview started off a little rough, (I felt his answer to the question regarding his evangelical techniques with Way of the Master was scripted and came off as if he were reading it) the interview shortly moved into more of a positive place, including laughter and what I felt was a sincere Kirk Cameron, a guy I could like and enjoy spending some time with.  What follows is a part of that interview that starts off with Kirk giving me a phone call.

Kirk Cameron (KC): Hi Mike Kirk Cameron here.

Mike Furches (MF): Hi Kirk, how are you doing?

KC: Doing great, how about you?

MF: Doing good, real good in fact.

KC: I’m out here on the West Coast, where are you at?

MF: I’m in Wichita Kansas.

KC:  Oh My!

MY: Yeah, I write for 3 web sites, The Virtual Pew, Spirituality in Film and of course the biggie and granddaddy of them all, Hollywood Jesus.

I’m looking forward to the interview, some of the folks and friends at Facebook and other places have indicated that they think I am a good choice to speak to you because I tend to be blunt and to the point. I’ve also seen enough interviews with you to know that you can handle it. (Laughter from me and Kirk)

KC:  Well that’s good and I’ll try not to go out to be too rough on you either.

MF:  You don’t have to go rough on me; you don’t have much of a reason to be that rough.  (Again laughter from the two of us)

 Anyway, I do have a few questions and I certainly want to respect your time, so I’ll jump right in if that is okay.

KC: Certainly, I appreciate you taking the time to talk to me.

MF:  I’m glad to do it.

This is a question I have had from another individual to ask you. It seems that a lot of your methods from WOTM are controversial, even among strong evangelicals, some say they are manipulative at times and are disrespectful, your thoughts as you are a great person to answer this question or thought?

KC: (laughter) Well, let’s see, I can tell you that my goal is to always be kind and to be gracious to always be willing to speak in kindness of what I  believe to be the truth, again, in a loving and gracious manner. So obviously I had a major change of heart and a major change of in my life when someone shared the Gospel with me. Today, I am a recovering Atheist and I am so grateful today that someone took the time to expose my sin and point me to the cross and my need for a Savior. Now some might say that the person who did that with me may have been disrespectful toward my lifestyle or intolerant of my previous beliefs, but I look at that persona as a hero. They were somebody who helped me to pull my head out of the sand and to smell the coffee so to speak. They helped me lift my eyes to Heaven and to begin to live my life saying ‘Thank you God for being so kind to me. Thank you for pulling me off this path that was leading no where good and for putting my feet on higher ground.’ Today I am so thankful; you look at most of my contemporaries that I grew up with and tragically I can’t even hang out with some of them anymore because their dead or they’re in a lock down facility. Why? Because they continued down a path that seemed right in their own eyes and it’s that Hollywood path that often leads to shame, guilt, fear, destruction and tragedy. I’m so thankful that I’m not there and it started with someone sharing the Gospel with me in a way that I attempt to share with others in my life.

MF: I’ll stray from some of my questions and you gave me a good follow up here.  Have you seen the video of Penn Jillette getting the gift of a bible?  
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZhG-tkQ_Q2w


KC: I sure have.

MF:  So what you are saying is in some ways, the same thing Penn is saying in the video? That if we really
believe in our faith, in a Heaven or a Hell, then it becomes critical and important to share our faith without compromise?

KC: Yes, and Penn went even further than that by saying and trying to convict people of faith to say, ‘If your not sharing your faith with someone that you believe is in danger, then how much do you really have to hate someone to not share that which you believe can help them?’ That would be the most unloving thing that you could do in other words, that is, to not share your faith with them. I can tell you right now that Penn the Atheist really convicted me and Ray Comfort saw his video. It made us feel like, you know what? We need to do this even more in life!

MF: So the conviction of an Atheist to do even more when it comes to spreading the Gospel?

KC: (Enthusiastically) YES! (Laughing now) that is the irony of that we agree, he is right.

MF: One of the things I have always tried to do is to respect my friends and readers, so this one is another question that comes directly from Facebook. What are your thoughts on Christian film and the criticism that there normally put out there including there isn’t much of a story, poor acting, poor special effects etc...  Do you think the future looks better for Christian film, and can you give some examples that give indication of that?

KC:  That’s a really good question and I have to think about it. (About 15 seconds of silence before he responds) Let me tell you something; first are you recording or writing?

MF:  I learned a long time ago to record.

KC:  That’s great, so let me tell you something about Christian film. You know, film is film. It is a very interesting discussion to talk about what makes something a “Christian” film. I’m looking at your web site, Hollywood Jesus right now and I see “Man of Steel, Jesus in Chains.” You can also look at The Chronicles of Narnia, The Passion of the Christ and a thousand different movies about heroes and damsels in distress, killing the dragon, rescuing the woman, stories about war and redemption, betrayal and sacrifice, death and resurrection, good overcoming evil and these are all universal story themes that make for exciting experiences in books, in movie theaters, music on stage, and all the best stories really come out of ancient themes that are best told in the scriptures themselves. So there is an argument that could be made that every great movie is a “Christian” movie at heart because when good overcomes evil or someone kills the dragon and wins the beautiful woman and restores her back to safety, or a man is providing and protecting those who trusted him, these are Biblical themes, not really revolutionary ideas. These aren’t pagan ideas! Pagan ideas are stories about how the guy rolls into town, kills everyone, throws the woman on his back and rides off into the sunset to enjoy all of the spoils of war for himself. Those are the anti heroes, so “Christian” films, I think, are the best kinds of film because they are faithful to the story and people are doing their job of being good story tellers. I’m getting a little philosophical there so I’ll try to be more direct in what I’m saying.

With technology today, those who understand how to tell great stories are able to make them look better.
We’ve got red camera’s we all have our DSR’s, our Final Cut programs, and we can all make movies, even if you’re 15 years old you can make a great movie. So, I think all films will be getting better in terms of the visuals, the effects and the way things look and sound, but storytelling is going to be good and bad everywhere you look. The best stories will always be the ones that resonate in the hearts of people, where those things are always rooted in the ultimate story, which is the story of God and His creation and creations rebellion against Him and of Him sacrificing in order to restore that which He loves back to Himself. There are also the stories of God putting the beast under His foot and beautifying the bride. Those are always going to be the best stories and movies and that’s why you see movies with those themes always do the best at the box office.

MF:  There are a few other areas I want to make sure I touch on. What about the controversy of Facebook and Youtube, in your words, what happened and was their a conspiracy or effort to stop the promotion of your work? Some are especially wondering this when it seems as if it was presented as an effort of these groups to stop your work, when in reality, both mediums contain a great deal of conservative Christian views. Why the Kirk Cameron effort and not the others who speak with a conservative voice?

KC: Well, do a search yourself. You can look on Facebook or YouTube and you can find videos of extremist cutting the heads off of live people, I would say that might rightly be categorized as unsafe or abusive. You can find pages about killing someone, say killing police officers, and maybe even another one that says the Virgin Mary ought to have aborted. Those things aren’t shut down. Why my movie about Faith, Hope and Love and finding God in the face of tragedy would be blocked from having people being able to post the trailer or link to the content? I have no idea who would do something like that or why they would do it. My guess is that there is enough people who don’t like that message that perhaps they just clicked that report a problem button that you can click, and if enough people do it that it would shut it down. I imagine it was not someone inside of Facebook or YouTube but probably groups of people on the outside who wanted to cause trouble, that would be my guess and that is a good safety mechanism that Facebook has in place. I’m thankful for that, nonetheless, there are millions of people who want to see my movie because they love God and they want to know where He is in the midst of their tragedy and suffering. I’m glad they spoke up and I’m grateful that YouTube and Facebook reinstated us rather quickly.

MF: Regarding your new film, Unstoppable, it looks promising, tell us some about it and why you are using a one night only concept for the showing of the film in theaters? Also, for those that want to see Unstoppable, will DVD options be available in the future?

KC: First, the premise of the film, from where I sit, I have been volunteering at a camp that my wife and I
started 23 years ago for terminally ill children.

MF:  That’s Camp Firefly?

KC: That’s right, and for 23 years we have been bringing families to a one week all-expense paid vacation. You can look that up at campfirefly.com. We’ve had over 160 families come and we got to be very close with them and when these children pass a way and die, the question always comes up and in fact is one of the top 5 questions in the world, it’s the question that wrecks peoples faith quicker than anything else, “Where is God? If God is good where is He in the midst of my tragedy? Where is He, why does He allow evil in the world?” This is the type of questions that skeptics love to throw, my God, my God like a fiery Molotov into faith communities to scatter God’s people to leave their churches. So, I want to face it head on, not only for those reasons but my own personal reasons. This is personal to me, one of my friends died and I was praying that God would heal him. I would like to know the answer to that question. So that’s why I did Unstoppable. I know God is there and I have the desire to know why He’s not doing, and doing the things that He is.

As far as a one night release: This is a very unique release of a film and I did the same thing with my last film called Monumental. It was terrific, fun and tens of thousands of fans and families gathering in movie theaters all over the country, all on the same day at the same time and we all watched the film simultaneously as its being broadcast live as a part of an event from Liberty University. Liberty University is the largest, private, non profit university in the country. It’s the largest Christian university in the world, and we are going to have 10,000 students, live and in attendance listening to musical artists like Mandisa and Warren Barfield and some other special guests. Part of that evening will be the Unstoppable movie which will be watched live via satellite. That gives us the opportunity to watch together and then start the conversation together.

As to the third part of the question, as to when can people see it afterwards, to tell you the truth, there will be opportunities 3 months later where people will be able to get it on DVD. There may be some other opportunities in between that but that’s not something I can really talk about. 

MF: Last thing Kirk, It seems as if Kirk Cameron has in some ways become the face of Christianity, are you comfortable with that?

KC:  Whoever is saying that better take a picture because my face is changing constantly (both of us laughing here) I’m getting older by the day. (Lots of laughter) Every grey hair and every wrinkle is proof to me that time is marching on.

MF:  I think the Miami Vice look with the beard stubble is quite fetching, (Both laughing) the stubble and all.

KC: (both still laughing) That’s too much, too much. Yeah, well take a picture now because I’m not going to look like this for long. You know, I’m just thankful to be alive. I’m still alive and kicking and I want to do everything I can to present a cutting edge, fresh perspective, offering hope and strength, faith, joy, and perseverance in a world and in a life that is very challenging. The good news is that I believe we have victory written all over us through the Gospel. The Gospel doesn’t loose. The Gospel wins and is winning. I want people to understand, there is victory in the midst of temporary tragedy. I want to show them where it is.

MF: As one who believes they are called into the gift of evangelism, specific to plant seeds, it is nice to know there are those who are called to close the deal and be a part of the process. So from that perspective, keep up the good work of telling others about Jesus.

KC: Thank you Mike, and you as well, I look forward to reading the story on Hollywood Jesus when it is done. 

MF:  Thanks to you Kirk, God bless you.

KC:  Thanks to you again as well Mike, and God bless you.

To see the trailer for the new project, Unstoppable, click on the video below, if the video doesn't appear, click on the following link:
 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nzKijw7v6AM&noredirect=1


The Virtual Pew and our other work is supported solely by the kind contributions of others. You can click on the donate button below to give any amount to this work that does so much more than just post articles on the net; I draw no ongoing salary from the church I pastor, Mosaic Wichita which is predominantly a homeless church; I am grateful for any small amount you can contribute to help with this ministry.  Believe me there is much more going on than most realize.  I will also provide information to verify the ministry and income that comes into this ministry and work.  Thanks and feel free to share any material from The Virtual Pew, I only ask that appropriate credit is given and a link to the original site with the material is provided.













There are hundreds of postings so make sure to check out the archives. You can also contact me for a free audio book link of The Keystone Kid at mike@furches.orgYou can visit http://www.thevirtualpew.com/. Hopefully you will consider a gift to The Virtual Pew.


Now I get asked this quite often, Can we repost your blogs or articles? The short answer to that is, what an honor that you would ask, and by all means, spread the word.Here is our contact information


The Virtual Pew
1249 N. St. Francis
Wichita Kansas, 67214


Email: mike@furches.org


Click on the following links to learn more about The Virtual Pew




























Friday, August 23, 2013

You're Next

Let’s get one issue out of the box, right off the bat, I will admit, I like horror, especially good horror. I will also admit, right of the bat, I don’t like bad horror. Now to clear up another expected misconception, I review film, I hardly endorse it. Some people think I endorse film simply because I review it, wrong! This view irritates me to the max. So, now that I have that off my chest, let me start, a new release I expect to do incredibly well on opening weekend is the release of the new slasher film, You’re Next. I went out with some friends for the advance because it was available to see. I didn’t expect much from the trailers, didn’t really want to see this movie as I am not generally a fan of slasher films but I decided to go anyway. What did I get? Exactly what I expected.

You’re Next starts off with a couple engaging in some rather explicit love making, my inward thoughts, (maybe I said something out loud to my friend Robert who was with me) was; their dead! Don’t they know Rule #1 in all horror movies? No Sex! Now to give you fair and advance warning, there is virtually no way to do a review of this film without giving some spoilers, I will try my best not to do it, but be forewarned. Now, back to Rule #1, opening sequence, involves sex, seemingly for no other reason than to show the sex, by the way, like I said, everyone should know Rule #1 prior to being someplace where there is creepy music (not the soundtrack it was actually quite nice hearing long time favorite Dwight Twilley) but the soundtrack, situation, back in the woods away from everyone else, well, remember Rule #1.

Shortly thereafter we are introduced to a rather strange and large family. We see a mom and dad driving back into the countryside to their seasonal home. While the home is large and isolated they are going there to celebrate 35 years of marriage. There have been some psychological issues but things are looking up for the wife. During the first couple of days there are a few strange occurrences in the house but all the children arrive along with boyfriends, girlfriends, husbands and wives. The family is together and like many families there is conflict and sibling rivalry. Mom and Dad don’t care though; they feel blessed that the family is back together. They sit down for dinner, complete as a family with guests on the first night they are all together. They pray over the meal they are about to eat in an apparent sincere way. One of the boyfriends notices something outside, goes to look and during the midst of an argument between two brothers he is shot through the head with an arrow from a crossbow. Immediately the onslaught starts and a blood fest takes place over the next 90 minutes or so. What happens on screen next may be enough to garnish the favor and awards from film festivals and patrons but I just didn’t enjoy it.

You’re Next is a low budget film and it shows, from the sound to the direction, to the very predictable plot I
wasn’t impressed. The acting at times is okay and the exception is Sharni Vinson the Australian actress who plays the part of the heroine, Erin. She is exceptional at playing a believable heroine who as a strong woman who caries the load not only within the plot of the movie, but in many ways, for the movie itself. Oh yeah I did enjoy the Dwight Twilly songs in the soundtrack even though I heard them, over, and over, and over.

There are themes in You’re Next that I think worthy of discussion, including how it seems that many in our society have a lackluster perspective of the family. While sibling rivalries are to be expected, one has to wonder, has the family unit gone the way of the dinosaur? We see presented here, a mother and father who have gone through some difficulty, from the actions and attitudes of their children one wonders of the contribution the children may have played in the ultimate downfall of this family. Families in general, now don’t sit around the table, don’t play, they compete, fall apart and out of love with each other. While there are evil people involved in this story, the real tragedy is rooted in the lack of and inability of this family to legitimately love and care for each other. It is unfortunately more about the individual than it is the family unit. There is no respect for the parents and what they have gone through in life. While many of the patrons in the half way filled auditorium I saw this film in laughed throughout the movie, I didn’t, I found the movie poorly made but also sad in its themes. Is this what we have come to? Is there no hope for loving families anymore?

For me, outside of the good job done, and the strong female themes played out particularly by Sharni Vinson, I found this movie to be a waste of time and money. While the themes regarding the breakdown of the family are worthy of discussion, I can’t help but wonder, could the family, especially the mother and father, have done a better job at teaching their children about a relationship with God as opposed to just knowing of God? I wondered are we as a society doing any better today. Do we run the risks presented here, not of a bunch of killers with masks killing us off one by one, but instead, of us as families growing a part day by day. There are lessons here not just for the family unit but also this thing called church, which often refers to itself, as a family. It is here, in the not knowing, loving, and sharing in life together that I wonder, are we all experiencing the potential horrors represented in You’re Next?

Due to not really enjoying myself at all, seeing a movie where the themes and plots have been done far better many times before, I unfortunately give this movie a rather distasteful review. On a scale of 1 – 10 for the things three things they were lacking in life, The Father, Son and Holy Spirit, I give a very disheartening 3

To see the trailer for the film just click on the video posted below, if the video doesn’t appear, click on the link:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ufUQWpEkbf0


The Virtual Pew and our other work is supported solely by the kind contributions of others. You can click on the donate button below to give any amount to this work that does so much more than just post articles on the net; I draw no ongoing salary from the church I pastor, Mosaic Wichita which is predominantly a homeless church; I am grateful for any small amount you can contribute to help with this ministry. Believe me there is much more going on than most realize. I will also provide information to verify the ministry and income that comes into this ministry and work. Thanks and feel free to share any material from The Virtual Pew, I only ask that appropriate credit is given and a link to the original site with the material is provided.

Click here to read about, and order the book, The Keystone Kid

Click here to visit the web page The Virtual Pew 

Click here to follow The Virtual Pew on Twitter

Mike Furches on Faceboook.

Click here to visit Mosaic Church where Mike is Pastor

The Keystone Kid/Virtual Pew Message Boards

Click here for booking information to have Pastor Mike come speak or perform, from speaking to music or magic, something for all groups.

Click to visit with Pastor Mike regarding any of your needs. He will respond to each request personally, and if need be refer you to one of our other pastors.

Click to subscribe to my blog

There are hundreds of postings so make sure to check out the archives. You can also contact me for a free audio book link of The Keystone Kid at mike@furches.orgYou can visit http://www.thevirtualpew.com/. Hopefully you will consider a gift to The Virtual Pew.

Now I get asked this quite often, Can we repost your blogs or articles? The short answer to that is, what an honor that you would ask, and by all means, spread the word.Here is our contact information

The Virtual Pew
6441 N. Hydraulic
Park City Kansas, 67219

Email: mike@furches.org

Click on the following links to learn more about The Virtual Pew

Donations to The Virtual Pew

The Virtual Pew Blog

Personal Furches Web Site

Mary Jane Furches MySpace Page

Mike Furches MySpace Page

Mike Furches MySpace Blog

Hollywood Jesus

Reviews With Mike

The Virtual Pew Sermons

The Virtual Pew News

MySpace Hollywood Jesus Group

MySpace The Virtual Pew Group

The Virtual Pew Live Radio Web Page

To Subscribe to The Virtual Pew Live Feed

Friday, July 19, 2013

The Conjuring, The Battle of Good Vs. Evil

Horror, no other genre of film offends as much as this except for pornography. While the criticism of one is justifiable, that of porn, I have always felt the criticism of the other is not as justified as some think. I have said for years, and still do, no other genre of film portrays the battle of good vs. evil or the power of light over darkness better than Horror. With the release of The Conjuring, we not only have one of the scariest movies in years but possibly the scariest movie ever. It is surprisingly spiritual with a strong emphasis on we overcome evil with God, and God alone. The other startling, statement is the devil exists and he and his demons are out to destroy all that is good.

The Conjuring is presented as a more true than not story.  It is the story of a haunting that took place and according to many still takes place in Harrisville Rhode Island. The movie is the story of the Perron family who lived in the house for approximately 10 years starting in 1970. The experienced haunting in the house shortly after moving in and according to Andrea Perron in her book House of Darkness, House of Light, the day they moved into the house. The events in the house became so severe that they eventually brought in the assistance of the Warren’s played in the film by Vera Farmiga, most recently of the television show Bates Hotel and Patrick Wilson who plays the part of Ed Warren. Farmiga plays the part of Lorraine Warren. The real Lorraine Warren has a brief cameo in the film. 

The Warren’s noted for their paranormal investigations over the years, including their investigations in the real Amityville Horror tale are also noted for their faith and belief that ghosts are manifestations of demons. Much like The Amityville Horror there is likely to be controversy surrounding this tale as to what is true and what is not. The producers and Perron family, including the two parents and all 5 children claim the film is true with the exception of a few dramatic licenses. Even in some of those licenses though, there is truth but related to other events with other individuals. The story line is scary, thought provoking and entertaining. 

The Conjuring is a well crafted film and one that will easily recover the $12,000,000 it cost to make. The cast is superb. I especially enjoyed the work by Patrick Wilson and Vera Farmiga but the supporting cast all around. There are several things in this movie one needs to pay attention to, especially to understand the excellent craftsmanship by director James Wan. First and foremost I recommend paying attention to the sound and editing. I believe a possible Oscar nomination for editing, it is par excellence. The scare tactics used here are at times expected, other times not, yet they will have you jumping out of your seat, even at times screaming out loud, there are genuine scare moments. The other area regarding sound is an area I want to make sure to mention. I not only suspect an Oscar nomination here, this movie has to presently be a odds on favorite for the award. I have seen few films that use the concepts of sound as powerfully. The Conjuring plays not only on our visual senses but it powerfully plays on our emotions and hearing. Sound is a powerful tool and the use of sound here is as powerful as any movie I have seen. That with a well scripted tale, wonderful use of light and a script that meshes together. This movie not only scares the viewer but entertains them.

This film reeks (in a good way) with spiritual overtones. Many will consider it the scariest movie ever; others will say that it is the scariest movie since The Exorcist. The amazing thing is this movie and The Exorcist both deal with Demonic Possession and both were based on true stories. I personally liked The Conjuring better and that says something for me. There is an even stronger message related to the ability of good to overcome evil, light to penetrate and overcome dark, and ultimately, the ability of God to defeat Satan. Unfortunately, I suspect many people of faith will be as critical of this film as they have been of horror and supernatural themes, including exorcism and demonic possession as they have been in the past. That is a shame, especially with such strong Biblical themes regarding demonic possession, even the son of God, Jesus Christ performing demonic exorcisms along with his disciples. Many people of faith seem to choose to live in a world where they ignore the reality of evil, yet that evil clearly exists. At some point it is in understanding evil and the fear of evil that one becomes best equipped to defeat the evil around them and in the lives of those they love. In real life The Warren’s seemed to understand this and it is portrayed excellently in The Conjuring.

In the battle against evil another perspective presented in a thought provocative way is the reality that when attacking evil, that evil in return will attack not just those attacking it but the families and loved ones of those attacking it. In one poignant scene; Ed Warren is placing crosses around the Parren’s house. He is asked what he is doing and he explains the power of the cross. He also makes a profound statement, the demons and spirits hate it, in fact, “it pisses them off,” so much so that the person(s) attacking the evil forces can expect to be attacked from those “pissed off entities.” We see this come about and it is a powerful reminder of the reality of the forces many face. People of faith who choose to engage in the battle I believe God has called us to in various places in the Bible know this. We need to remember; when the Bible says, “The gates of Hell will not prevail against us,” the implication is that we are on the attack, not sitting back, we aren’t to hide from, stay away from, we are to be on the attack, the bible makes clear, we are not in a battle against flesh and blood but against principalities and darkness. We have many reminders in the Bible including, “That greater is he who is in us than he who is in the world!” While many may choose to stay out of the battle of good and evil, the reality is the battle goes on around us. The other reality is this, we need to prepare, movies like this I believe help those of faith understand the need of preparation and for those without faith, the reality of the evil that exists around us.

For those who read my reviews you know I normally withhold from a lot of spiritual commentary but it is impossible to review a film of this nature without doing so because the message and theme related to spirituality is so strong. I love movies like this when they are well done and The Conjuring is done exceptionally.

There were only a few areas I thought The Conjuring could have been tightened up; a little more character development would have been nice but the movie still worked. For this reason, on a scale of 1 – 10, for the number of letters in conjuring, I give a well deserved; almost perfect 9 for this film. I consider it a must see for all people of faith, seeking truth in spirituality, or even those questioning the reality of evil. Many may not like it for various reasons but it doesn’t change the reality of the spiritual forces around us and the attacks of evil on all of that which is good and from God.

Now from those people of faith who will be critical without seeing the movie, who think all things horror is evil, (except all those horror stories in the scripture) let the criticism not begin, but continue. 

Visit the following web site to read up more on the real story of The Conjuring:  http://www.chasingthefrog.com/reelfaces/conjuring.php 

You can also see a review of the film, by the real life Andrea Perron, one of the people who lived the experience, to see the review simply click on the video below.  If the video doesn’t appear, click on the following link:


Friday, June 14, 2013

Superman, Man of Steel

I just started my 13th year of contributing to Hollywood Jesus. HJ has had an impact on me and with the help of greats like David Bruce, I have for years recognized my ability to find seeds of truth in film to plant in ones search for truth regarding spiritual matters. One of the first things I ever read at Hollywood Jesus was from David Bruce. While some point out the fallacies of certain films, like Superman, I have never abandoned my belief in David’s vision, of using film to find seeds of truth to plant in one’s mind regarding their own search for truth. Of course I am unapologetic as to what I believe that truth to be but I have always tried to be respectful, hoping that maybe, just maybe, there is something I will write that will cause one to think deeper about spiritual things and come to the same conclusions I have. For those who are critical of this approach, I am reminded of what the Bible says, “Jesus never taught them anything without first telling them stories. After he told them the stories he would gather together his disciples and explain their meaning.” Movies are a contemporary form of storytelling. This is why I fell in love with the approach used by David Bruce all those years ago.

One of the best examples of this I have seen is David’s review of Superman back in 1998. That review cab be seen at an archived page of the original Hollywood Jesus at: http://www.hollywoodjesus.com/superman.htm. With the viewing of Superman, Man of Steel, I found myself recalling that review. Most of the points David mentions in his original review, which turned heads, are still present in the new movie. There are a few points of interest I want to point out specifically related to Superman, Man of Steel, but before doing so, go back in time and see what David picked up on in his original review in 1998.

Many know the story of Superman but few have likely thought of the spiritual imagery throughout the story. A powerful being from another planet is sent to earth to take on human form to be raised as a human; he is seemingly all powerful and has an immense love for the human species. He has as some would point out a sacrificial love where he is willing to offer himself up for the salvation of all people. He is raised by Jonathan (Joseph) and Martha (Mary) (Again see David’s original review.) Kent. They are fully aware of his powers and origins but raise him with integrity and morals. As Clark grows up he recognizes some things his earthly parents don’t understand. He has an ongoing relationship with his father, now a spirit of sorts who keeps him informed and reminded of his purpose. Clark has a dark and deceitful enemy who would destroy all of humanity, even the son of his nemesis, Jorel, Kalel (Clark Kent’s original name) father. One of the things we see is the value Clark has for people of faith, including a pastor of a church where we see continual shots of either a cross or Jesus as a Shepherd in a conversation between the two. We also see times where Clark looks to the cross or a church for answers to questions he is facing. Clark has rugged experiences of working as a fisherman, a builder and other vocations, while rescuing people. We see a drastic change in his life after a scene that resembles a baptism; he offers himself up for the salvation of others, seemingly cast into the sea where he takes on the position of a crucified savior. He emerges with a new purpose to discover himself.

If Man of Steel is lacking in any area it is in character development.  What we do learn about the characters is largely via flashback sequences; as a result we lose the impact of seeing the characters develop. The special effects, sound and costuming is incredible. I saw the film in 3-D and recommend people not waste their money for 3-D as there just isn’t enough to justify the extra cost. 

While in many ways the story is lacking I suspect there will be those who appreciate the strong spiritual emphasis in the film as much as I did. In some ways this is more obvious than in past Superman films. There are times Henry Cavill looks more like Jesus than Clark Kent, beard and all. I suspect this was done with intent in presenting the savior of the world. Amy Adams does a good job as Lois Lane and Michael Shannon does a very nice job as General Zod. I especially liked Russell Crowe as Kalel’s (Clark Kent’s) Kriptonian father and Kevin Costner as Jonathan Kent. Diane Lane as Martha Kent has not gotten the press, but she was spectacular. The casting was near perfect and I would like to see Cavill back as Superman in other films, even a Justice League film. I would also like to see a little better story though. 

While Superman, Man of Steel is far from perfect, it is a near perfect character (Clark Kent/Superman) that can be used to point people towards the person of Jesus; the one many believe to be the real savior of the world. The associations and similarities may be far more intended than some would admit but for more on that point, see that 1998 review by David Bruce. 


I am giving a higher than expected score for this film which may surprise many, it is due to the enjoyment I had, despite the lack of story. On a scale of 1 – 10, for the number that kind of resembles an S for Superman, especially if doubled, I give an enjoyable, entertaining 8.

The following is a clip from ABC featuring the cast of Man of Steel speaking about the film.  To see it click on the trailer, if the trailer doesn't appear, click on the following link:


The Virtual Pew and our other work is supported solely by the kind contributions of others. You can click on the donate button below to give any amount to this work that does so much more than just post articles on the net; I draw no ongoing salary from the church I pastor, Mosaic Wichita which is predominantly a homeless church; I am grateful for any small amount you can contribute to help with this ministry. Believe me there is much more going on than most realize. I will also provide information to verify the ministry and income that comes into this ministry and work. Thanks and feel free to share any material from The Virtual Pew, I only ask that appropriate credit is given and a link to the original site with the material is provided.

Click here to read about, and order the book, The Keystone Kid

Click here to visit the web page The Virtual Pew 

Click here to follow The Virtual Pew on Twitter

Mike Furches on Faceboook.

Click here to visit Mosaic Church where Mike is Pastor

The Keystone Kid/Virtual Pew Message Boards

Click here for booking information to have Pastor Mike come speak or perform, from speaking to music or magic, something for all groups.

Click to visit with Pastor Mike regarding any of your needs. He will respond to each request personally, and if need be refer you to one of our other pastors.

Click to subscribe to my blog

Click to visit and join our sister group at MySpace Hollywood Jesus.

Now for those that do not know, make sure you check out the numerous articles and blogs by checking out the archives. If visiting The Virtual Pew or MySpace they are archived on the left hand side of the page. Scroll down to where you see newer or older listed under archives and then click there. There are hundreds of postings so make sure to check out the archives. You can also contact me for a free e-book pre edit version of The Keystone Kid at mike@thevirtualpew.comYou can visit http://www.thevirtualpew.com/ and on the front page down on the left side you sill see our store. Your purchase provides needed funds to The Virtual Pew. If you do not see something to purchase you can click on the search engine, (do not put anything in the search box at this time). You will be taken to Amazon where you can search for anything you desire. Hopefully you will consider a gift to The Virtual Pew.

Now I get asked this quite often, Can we repost your blogs or articles? The short answer to that is, what an honor that you would ask, and by all means, spread the word.Here is our contact information



The Virtual Pew
6441 N. Hydraulic
Park City Kansas, 67219

Email: mike@furches.org

Click on the following links to learn more about The Virtual Pew

Donations to The Virtual Pew

The Virtual Pew Blog

Personal Furches Web Site

Mary Jane Furches MySpace Page

Mike Furches MySpace Page

Mike Furches MySpace Blog

Hollywood Jesus

Reviews With Mike

The Virtual Pew Sermons

The Virtual Pew News

MySpace Hollywood Jesus Group

MySpace The Virtual Pew Group

The Virtual Pew Live Radio Web Page

To Subscribe to The Virtual Pew Live Feed

Superman Man of Steel: Powerful Partnering with Wal-Mart

With Superman, Man of Steel we not only get a retelling of a classic comic book character, we get a powerful marketing campaign between the mighty DC Comics and the mightiest of box stores, Wal-Mart. What has transpired could be a new way for production companies to make money and partner with and create long going advertisement campaigns not just for their movie but the companies who partner with them. Who better to kick off this model than the partnering of Superman, arguably, the mightiest of all superheroes and Wal-Mart, the mightiest of all retail outlets? 

Wal-Mart purchased the rights to promote Superman Man of Steel, including hosting early premiere showings the night before the movies openings. Individuals purchased their tickets at the megastore prior to the showing on June 13. While tickets were reduced in price, there was also a small packet of materials including web site extras only available to those purchasing the tickets along with the souvenir ticket that came with it. The near capacity to sell out showings of the film along with a 15 minute special feature available only to those going on the opening Wal-Mart night were among the highlights. While there were some fans that were critical of the effort of Wal-Mart, they were, never the less still there, many dressed in their Superman garb. I found the criticism somewhat hypocritical, if not wanting to support Wal-Mart; they could have simply waited a few hours to see the film without the features that went with the Wal-Mart Promotion.

We have likely entered a new era of film promotions, if it produces the special features, (which this reviewer likes) I see a stroke of genius there. This also comes at a time when many theaters are lobbying to reduce the time of trailers shown in their theaters. I have never heard a consumer complain about too many trailers but anything to reduce time prior to a movie in order to sell more tickets, to more showings should be expected. Movie production companies are at a place where they have to look at alternative ways to promote their films to make more money. While this could be a solution to that problem, I see it as another problem in other ways. There are only a few companies that can provide the resources to make this happen. Many of them will be controversial to some of the consumers who want to support certain films. 

Unfortunately, in the scheme of things that are likely to come, consumers, including many Christians may be called to a place where they are tempted to compromise their faith and integrity. What if a company promoting a movie we want to see that has as a focus the power of the family also promotes products that causes damage to the family? What if that company is promoting principles and/or products that go against our belief system? That is likely the case even in this example with Wal-Mart. Wal-Mart has not been recognized as the friendliest company to small private business owners, there is a great deal of speculation and debate about the Wal-Mart effort take advantage of labor with reductions in benefits and hours. While one may or may not agree with this, there are many who do, for those individuals, they are once again tempted to give up their core beliefs about supporting an organization like Wal-Mart and now a more in your face approach that includes major sponsorship of a movie many have longed to see, especially children.


While there are no easy answers to this issue, it is clear, the efforts of major cooperation’s impacting our everyday life, outside of typical promotions of their products exists. Many will give in and see no problem with compromise doing this, some will see something positive, I will withhold judgment as it is too early to tell what the long lasting results of campaigns like this will be. Who knows, while we have had product placement in the past, we now have Superman, or at least the actor portraying him speaking the high praises of Wal-Mart. I have to wonder though, living in the great state of Kansas, the home of Clark Kent, would that same actor and all of those individuals promoting Wal-Mart in the special feature before the film, also speak out for and support those small local businesses who have been hurt by major companies like Wal-Mart.  I would hope that if growing up in a small Kansas town would have taught Clark Kent anything, it is the need to stand up not just for the big guy but also, the little guy who has been there all along from one generation to the next.  

To see part of the Wal-Mart Special Features Film click on the video, if the video doesn't appear, click on the following link:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j6TWwZ9azYw


The Virtual Pew and our other work is supported solely by the kind contributions of others. You can click on the donate button below to give any amount to this work that does so much more than just post articles on the net; I draw no ongoing salary from the church I pastor, Mosaic Wichita which is predominantly a homeless church; I am grateful for any small amount you can contribute to help with this ministry. Believe me there is much more going on than most realize. I will also provide information to verify the ministry and income that comes into this ministry and work. Thanks and feel free to share any material from The Virtual Pew, I only ask that appropriate credit is given and a link to the original site with the material is provided.

Click here to read about, and order the book, The Keystone Kid

Click here to visit the web page The Virtual Pew 

Click here to follow The Virtual Pew on Twitter

Mike Furches on Faceboook.

Click here to visit Mosaic Church where Mike is Pastor

The Keystone Kid/Virtual Pew Message Boards

Click here for booking information to have Pastor Mike come speak or perform, from speaking to music or magic, something for all groups.

Click to visit with Pastor Mike regarding any of your needs. He will respond to each request personally, and if need be refer you to one of our other pastors.

Click to subscribe to my blog

Click to visit and join our sister group at MySpace Hollywood Jesus.

Now for those that do not know, make sure you check out the numerous articles and blogs by checking out the archives. If visiting The Virtual Pew or MySpace they are archived on the left hand side of the page. Scroll down to where you see newer or older listed under archives and then click there. There are hundreds of postings so make sure to check out the archives. You can also contact me for a free e-book pre edit version of The Keystone Kid at mike@thevirtualpew.comYou can visit http://www.thevirtualpew.com/ and on the front page down on the left side you sill see our store. Your purchase provides needed funds to The Virtual Pew. If you do not see something to purchase you can click on the search engine, (do not put anything in the search box at this time). You will be taken to Amazon where you can search for anything you desire. Hopefully you will consider a gift to The Virtual Pew.

Now I get asked this quite often, Can we repost your blogs or articles? The short answer to that is, what an honor that you would ask, and by all means, spread the word.Here is our contact information



The Virtual Pew
6441 N. Hydraulic
Park City Kansas, 67219

Email: mike@furches.org

Click on the following links to learn more about The Virtual Pew

Donations to The Virtual Pew

The Virtual Pew Blog

Personal Furches Web Site

Mary Jane Furches MySpace Page

Mike Furches MySpace Page

Mike Furches MySpace Blog

Hollywood Jesus

Reviews With Mike

The Virtual Pew Sermons

The Virtual Pew News

MySpace Hollywood Jesus Group

MySpace The Virtual Pew Group

The Virtual Pew Live Radio Web Page

To Subscribe to The Virtual Pew Live Feed

Monday, April 29, 2013

Johnny Depp as Tonto, The Role of Original Americans In Film


With the upcoming release of The Lone Ranger, Disney has been at work heading off much of the expected controversy that is sure to follow Johnny Depp as he plays the iconic figure of Tonto. Depp who has stated that he believes he is Native American (many actually prefer the westernized term of Indian and many Native peoples such as me now prefer Original American) has not been able to give proof to that claim other than recently joining the Comanche tribe after a blessing from one of its elders. Even among Original American peoples, the concept of purity in ones blood line is debated. I must give a full disclaimer that my own heritage includes a strong back ground including Cherokee peoples, while my bloodline, from the Eastern Band of Cherokees is not pure, it is enough that many in my family still carry on Original American traits and looks. After years of research and study, I am also aware of how the Original Americans have been portrayed in Cinema. 

Many may not understand the issues many Original Americans have with a non Original American’s playing the part of an Indian in cinema. Many hold it cat amount to a white actor playing the part of an African American actor in black-face  There is also the recognition that there are many qualified Original American actors that could have played the part of Tonto. It is not to detract from Depp’s ability, but as noted, it has been clear there are issues by Depp’s own efforts to seek recognition and speak out on the subject as well as Disney’s attempt to address the issue, albeit quietly over the last months.

One of the reasons many Original Americans and others have taken issue is centered around, not only the roles often being played by non Original American’s, but also the way they have been portrayed as savages and non educated peoples. The negative portrayals of Original American Peoples over the years continue to show a need of understanding. While there are still many unfortunate portrayals of the people, there have also thankfully been over recent years somewhat of an understanding and respect given Original American’s in film. 

Some of the recent portrayals and positive images show the strong family nature of many Original American people, also portrayed though is the strong emphasis on their faith and spirituality. The importance of faith, among many tribes and people and the early acceptance of Christianity has played and presented in a significant way. 

Various races and partial blooded Original American People have taken up the cause to help the plight among Original Americans and those efforts still continues.  Depp has garnished the blessings of many for his portrayal of Tonto, which Disney has also rewritten. Tonto will not be presented in the same way, speaking broken English in the way he did in the original television series; instead Depp is reported to bring the character meaning. This has garnished the praise of many within Original American circles, but also Chris Eyre, the most noted Original American Director in Hollywood. Whether Depp’s own persistence to receive the blessings of Original Americans and to portray a character the people will be proud of is yet to be seen. While Depp has at times been involved in some questionable behavior, he seems to have tried to remain faithful to the things he supports outside of Hollywood including the blessings of Original Americans in his own portrayal of Tonto.

As a person whom has enough Original American Blood to claim full Indian Rights, I anxiously await the release of The Lone Ranger. I am also hopeful the film shows the deep spiritual leanings of the Original American’s. While I am certain the Christian influence that existed rather strongly isn’t portrayed as accurately or as much as it should be, hopefully people of all faiths can at a minimum, consider the racism that has and still exists towards Original American Peoples. I hope that especially Christians, because of their own racist practices of the past take the time need to reconsider the damage done not only to the cause of Christianity but also for the ways we treated and tried to convert to a Westernized mindset the Original Americans reached out to among various missionary groups.  As Christians, we don’t have a good track record in how we treated Original Americans. It would be hypocritical for us to ignore the plight which still continue, but also the plight which many of our forefathers within the realms of Christendom perpetuated on Original American Peoples, from reintegration programs, to schools that taught Original Americans to forget their past and history and to adapt to being “White.”  The hope is that not only Hollywood will show a fair and accurate presentation of history but also the Christian community can research and understand its history in the damage that was done among Original American Peoples. There is a reason many missionaries in America are having difficulty reaching the Reservations that still exist, we only have to look into the mirror of our history to understand. Hopefully, Depp’s presentation of Tonto in The Lone Ranger will help us in that understanding and in the process, help tear down the walls of separation, which in many places still exists among the peoples. 

To see the trailer of The Lone Ranger, Click the following video, if the video doesn't appear, click the link:
http://www.youtube.com/user/disneymovietrailers?v=yd2C0TJTXNA



To see how many Native, Original Americans Have Been Portrayed in the Movies, Click on the Following Video, if the Video Doesn't Appear, Click on the Link

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_hJFi7SRH7Q


The Virtual Pew and our other work is supported solely by the kind contributions of others. You can click on the donate button below to give any amount to this work that does so much more than just post articles on the net; I draw no ongoing salary from the church I pastor, Mosaic Wichita which is predominantly a homeless church; I am grateful for any small amount you can contribute to help with this ministry. Believe me there is much more going on than most realize. I will also provide information to verify the ministry and income that comes into this ministry and work. Thanks and feel free to share any material from The Virtual Pew, I only ask that appropriate credit is given and a link to the original site with the material is provided.

Click here to read about, and order the book, The Keystone Kid

Click here to visit the web page The Virtual Pew 

Click here to follow The Virtual Pew on Twitter

Mike Furches on Faceboook.

Click here to visit Mosaic Church where Mike is Pastor

The Keystone Kid/Virtual Pew Message Boards

Click here for booking information to have Pastor Mike come speak or perform, from speaking to music or magic, something for all groups.

Click to visit with Pastor Mike regarding any of your needs. He will respond to each request personally, and if need be refer you to one of our other pastors.

Click to subscribe to my blog

Click to visit and join our sister group at MySpace Hollywood Jesus.

Now for those that do not know, make sure you check out the numerous articles and blogs by checking out the archives. If visiting The Virtual Pew or MySpace they are archived on the left hand side of the page. Scroll down to where you see newer or older listed under archives and then click there. There are hundreds of postings so make sure to check out the archives. You can also contact me for a free e-book pre edit version of The Keystone Kid at mike@thevirtualpew.comYou can visit http://www.thevirtualpew.com/ and on the front page down on the left side you sill see our store. Your purchase provides needed funds to The Virtual Pew. If you do not see something to purchase you can click on the search engine, (do not put anything in the search box at this time). You will be taken to Amazon where you can search for anything you desire. Hopefully you will consider a gift to The Virtual Pew.

Now I get asked this quite often, Can we repost your blogs or articles? The short answer to that is, what an honor that you would ask, and by all means, spread the word.Here is our contact information

The Virtual Pew
6441 N. Hydraulic
Park City Kansas, 67219

Email: mike@furches.org

Click on the following links to learn more about The Virtual Pew

Donations to The Virtual Pew

The Virtual Pew Blog

Personal Furches Web Site

Mary Jane Furches MySpace Page

Mike Furches MySpace Page

Mike Furches MySpace Blog

Hollywood Jesus

Reviews With Mike

The Virtual Pew Sermons

The Virtual Pew News

MySpace Hollywood Jesus Group

MySpace The Virtual Pew Group

The Virtual Pew Live Radio Web Page

To Subscribe to The Virtual Pew Live Feed

Thursday, April 11, 2013

USA Televisions The Moment: An Interview With NFL Great Kurt Warner



Over the years I have been infatuated with Dreams. I think because I have had to dream and gone after my own dre 
ams. After growing up in the streets, having at best a dysfunctional life, I realized that for myself there were dreams I had to obtain, they weren’t options, they were necessities. Finishing high school, going to college and ultimately being successful in the things I did, from working with bands to leading mental health agencies and now plowing ahead in ministry, with the poorest of the poor in America, all dreams I felt the need to go after.


Like many other parents I have found myself also dreaming for my family. There comes a point in time where one recognizes the possibilities and obstacles in obtaining their dreams. When family is involved, sacrifice is required, not just from the individual going for their dreams, but also those involved in life with that person. More times than not when others are involved, dreams are threaded together like a fine needlepoint tapestry. 

One person noted for accomplishing their dreams, for their perseverance is Kurt Warner. The former Northern Iowa Quarterback was given a second opportunity to play professional football while playing for the Arena Football League Team, The Iowa Barnstormers. He had been drafted as a free agent by the Green Bay Packers, didn’t make the team and went on to play for the Barnstorm 
ers while also working at the local Hy-Vee Grocery store sacking and carrying out groceries. The St. Louis Rams signed him and his story became what many consider one of the great stories in the history of sports. Kurt Warner went on to play for 3 NFL teams, winning the Super Bowl and being the Leagues MVP two times. He knows what it means to accomplish his dreams.


The USA Network recently started a new reality television program called The Moment. The series, hosted by Kurt Warner follows different individuals who for one reason or another, had given up on their dreams. The first episode of the season followed Robert Capita, a father and former sailor who had dreamed of becoming a professional Yacht Captain. Warner hooks him up with an America’s Cup legend and Capita begins training for 2 weeks. At the conclusion of his training, depending on how he has done, he may be offered an opportunity to captain an America’s Cup Yacht. Without giving the program away, it was exceptional at showing the reality and sacrifice of chasing ones dream. Many want to see their dreams come true but often don’t consider the sacrifice. 


I had the opportunity last week to speak to Kurt Warner about football, dreams and of course his new show.  The following is a transcript of that interview. 


Mike Furches (MF): Hey Kurt, it is an honor to speak to you, I played football in college plus your new project with The Moment is something that also hits home for me.


Kurt Warner (KW): Well thank you, I am excited about it.


MF: I left a career in mental health and music where I was doing quite well to go back into ministry and work with the homeless. I went from a pretty good salary down to $18,000 a year, asking them after coming on board to reduce it to $15,000 year because they couldn’t afford it. 


KW: Wow, that’s awesome.


MF: I used to coach and used to quote the Langston Hughes poem, Dreams. Don’t know if you know the poem or not?


KW: No, I don’t know it.


MF: Hold fast to dreams
For if dreams go
Life is a barren field
Frozen with snow.


Hold fast to dreams
For if dreams die
Life is a broken winged bird
That cannot fly.


Kurt, I appreciate your work with your new project. 


KW: Wow, thank you.


MF: Some of my friends knew I was going to be speaking to you and a few of my questions today are from them. One  is: What do you think of the current NFL rule changes and the way the game is played now as opposed to the way it was played 15 – 20 years ago?


KW: I’m a firm believer in the rule changes. For me the greatest commodity in football is the player. The only thing that is going to allow this game to thrive like it is right now is to continually find ways to protect the player. Even though we may change certain aspects of how the game is played now, it is important to make sure that we make health and safety first and foremost. I still think this is the greatest game and greatest team sport that there is. It’s going to thrive and continue to do well even with small rule changes like we’re making. It is also important that those rule changes start at a very young age and that we get back to teaching technique and make sure that we focus in on teaching things that will keep people safe from a very early age. We need to also see to it that we provide the knowledge of how to play the game with technique but also the knowledge of injuries, specifically head injuries. We need to make sure on what to do for coaches, players and parents, that they are knowledgeable about what to look for and what to see, what to do, what the protocol is when those things happen. I think this has to start at the earliest age and has to be continued through to the highest level of the NFL. We are making some good moves and good strides in the right direction. I am fully behind those decisions at whatever level as long as they have the players’ interest in mind which I believe they do. 


MF: Your faith has been discussed quite a bit in the public and you have been open about it. You also see players like Tim Tebow who has been outspoken about his faith. Sometimes we see mixed reactions of fans towards people like you and Tebow. You have some fans who love you, others who can’t stand you and are critical. Can you share your thoughts when a fan is critical of a player who shares their faith?


KW: It’s one of those things. People don’t understand it and it’s not the way they are. They are going to be the first ones to criticize in whatever way, shape or form. I think we see that with faith because it is such a dividing line. You either believe it, understand it and have it, or you don’t. It is one of those things where people have certain perspectives of Christians or people of faith. A lot of times, maybe they have had bad experiences with those individuals, may a wrong or a negative perception about those who are outspoken about their faith. When you’re in the public eye and you do what we do and you are outspoken about your faith, you have to understand that not everybody is going to agree with it. Not everyone is going to agree with what you believe in, not everybody is going to agree with how you practice or do it.  It is like we are in a firestorm, especially in this day and age with social media. You can’t allow that to deter you from who you are and what you believe. You have to stand firm and I think that is one reason so many people dump on Tim Tebow. He seems to be the same guy regardless of the situation, he wears his faith on his sleeve and I think you find people who believe in the same things and loves that he is a kind of hero in the faith to them. Then there are others who may not believe the same things but they appreciate his consistency and his stance and they can respect that, so they become a fan because of that.  Then like I said, there are other people who are just looking for something to criticize. Faith is definitely a lightening rod for that. 


MF: You played college ball at Northern Iowa, is that correct?


KW: Yes I did.


MF: What conference were you in.


KW: We bounced around a bit, we were in the Gateway Conference when I played, but I know the basketball is in the Missouri Valley. 


MF: Do you follow College Basketball at all?


KW: I don’t follow it a lot.


MF: I live in Wichita Kansas now and our cities team, Wichita State University from the Missouri Conference just completed their run at the Final 4. We have several players on our team that are quite noteworthy for going after their dreams. One player, Carl Hall takes his life into his hands every time he steps on the court due to a heart condition and two other players had to pay their way and tuition for the first year as walk-on’s in order to accomplish their dreams of playing for a team that had a chance at a national championship. I know your new television series deals with helping people accomplish their dreams.


KW: That’s really cool


MF: In regards to sports and in life, why is it important for people to go after their dreams?


KW: I believe that if your dream is rooted in being who God created you to be, and the gifts that God gave you, I don’t believe we become fully alive until we’re living in those things that we are passionate about. I don’t believe we become who God created us to be without living and becoming what he put inside of us. I think we see it everyday. The greatest impact of people is when they are sharing their passions with others. One can be passionate as a teacher, a president, a football player whatever it is, across the board. I believe that when we live in our passions it has tremendous impact it is clearly so genuine to people that it truly inspires and impacts them. I truly believe that kind of like your situation, regardless of the amount of money that you make, regardless of the struggles that you go through, regardless of the circle of influence that you have, when you live in your passions, you have the greatest opportunity to be who God created you to be and have the type of impact God created you to have. That’s why for me it is so important that we make sure that our passions and our dreams continue to stay alive. 


MF: It’s kind of like in the movie Chariots of Fire:


KW: Oh Yeah!


MF: It’s like the character of Eric Liddell says when he tells his sister that he feels closest to God when he is doing the things he believes God created him to do. He feels God’s pleasure when he runs and he knows he was created to run. 


KW: Exactly!


MF: Would you say that God has created each of us to be uniquely different with unique talents and it is only as we are doing those things that we find and experience the pleasure of living?


KW: I would totally agree.


MF: Can you tell us some about the television show The Moment?  



KW: It’s on the USA network starting April 11. The time it airs depends on the time zone you are in but you can check with your local cable or television listings for that. The premise of the show is on individuals who were chasing their dreams and somehow, life got in the way and threw them a curveball.  It took them down a path that was kind of out of their control and there was a decision or a choice they had to make that forced them to step away from their dreams. I come back in at a later date in their life present them with an opportunity to chase their dream again. For me, each episode is kind of like a mini Rocky movie. We show up, we let them know that this opportunity is ready and available for you, do you want to chase your dream? If they choose to go after their dream then we take them through the training, hooking them up with a mentor or a coach who trains them through the process. They push them to their limits and take them through different exercises and skills that they are going to need if they intend on winning their title fight. At the end of each episode they will have an audition or an interview ready for them in their field of expertise or experience, a great job with a great company in their field where they are going to have to convince them about what they have accomplished. They have to show and prove to themselves that they deserve a second chance. If they get the second chance then they get the job and it is up to them from there if they get the job on what they do with the job, where they go and how far they can go. One of the things I love so much about this show is that we’re not giving away a dream, we are simply giving away an opportunity for them to chase it again. What happens, how far they go and what they accomplish is truly up to them. I love that part of it because I think that is what life is. It presents us with opportunities all of the time, but what do we do with it? Are we prepared, will we chase after it?  Can we convince people that we deserve to be there? Are we willing to accept the sacrifices that it takes to be great?


That’s kind of the show in a nutshell. I am excited about it from that stand point. Very seldom are we giving anything away, or are we giving or getting anything for free. We’ve got to earn everything that we have. That’s what this show is. We provide the opportunity but it is up to you to see how far we can take it. 


MF: And you’ve lived that life? 


KW: Yeah, exactly! It has been up close and personal for me. I know about living it and going for it very well.


MF: Kurt thanks much.  I always enjoyed watching you play, your story, and the fact that you are open about your faith. 


KW:  Thank you Mike and take care.


As I finished my interview I had to admit, my initial thoughts was this was going to be another same ol same ol kind of show. I decided to watch it though and was I ever pleasantly surprised. We see a host of a show that knows about what the individuals on the show are going through. What I really liked though was the reality of this program that so many “reality” shows seems to so often miss. We see the struggle and the difficulty of one obtaining their dreams. We also see passion and in that passion because the show is so real, we are inspired and moved. It was a joy speaking with one who had themselves gone after and accomplished their dreams. Hopefully, and I believe it will, The Moment will inspire others to go after their own dreams when the opportunity presents itself. In a world where there seems to be a lost hope of dreams coming true, with The Moment, hope is rediscovered and we can all see that once again, dreams can become reality.   

To see the video opening of The Moment, Click the video below, if the video doesn't appear, click the link:

 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qdO1IT-Cep



The Virtual Pew and our other work is supported solely by the kind contributions of others. You can click on the donate button below to give any amount to this work that does so much more than just post articles on the net; I draw no ongoing salary from the church I pastor, Mosaic Wichita which is predominantly a homeless church; I am grateful for any small amount you can contribute to help with this ministry.  Believe me there is much more going on than most realize.  I will also provide information to verify the ministry and income that comes into this ministry and work.  Thanks and feel free to share any material from The Virtual Pew, I only ask that appropriate credit is given and a link to the original site with the material is provided.

















There are hundreds of postings so make sure to check out the archives. You can also contact me for a free audio book link of The Keystone Kid at mike@furches.orgYou can visit http://www.thevirtualpew.com/. Hopefully you will consider a gift to The Virtual Pew.


Now I get asked this quite often, Can we repost your blogs or articles? The short answer to that is, what an honor that you would ask, and by all means, spread the word.Here is our contact information


The Virtual Pew
6441 N. Hydraulic
Park City Kansas, 67219


Email: mike@furches.org


Click on the following links to learn more about The Virtual Pew