Friday, September 22, 2017

Kingsman: The Golden Circle

www.thevirtualpew.com
In 2015, the biggest surprise hit of the movie season was the movie, Kingsman: The Secret Service. It was an action packed movie that was over the top in action, violence and just a boat load of fun. I saw it late in its long run and after seeing it understood why the word of mouth was carrying the movie further along than anyone, I believe even the filmmakers ever imagined. With the largely unexpected success there was no doubt there would be a sequel or continuation of the series. The question was, would it come close to being as much fun as the original?

With the release of Kingsman: The Golden Circle, those questions as far as this reviewer is concerned has been answered. Imagine if you will, An all star cast, Fox News, robotic attack dog, world wide war on drugs, 24 karat gold tattoos Southern Fried CIA United States special forces who is masked under a Kentucky Bourbon making company, electric lassoing by cowboy agents, bullet proof umbrellas and comedic relief provided by a Kung Fu, ass kicking Elton John, yes a Kung Fu ass kicking Elton John, and you have begin to scratch the surface of Kingsman: The Golden Circle.

www.thevirtualpew.comTechnically, from the opening scenes there is more action in the first 10 minutes of this movie than the entirety of American Assassin. From the first 10 minuets, that action does nothing but pick up in this incredibly fun movie. The 2 hour 25 minute film flies by so fast it seems as if you have only spent an hour in the theater and it involves everything from excitement, fighting, and comedy all through the film, never ceasing to surprise and entertain.

MatthewVaughn provides some quality direction for this style of entertainment. It had to have some difficulties when considering this all star cast which includes, Targon Everton who revives his role from the earlier film as Eggsy but also a surprise reprised role of Harry Hart portrayed by Colin Firth. The great acting all works together, it doesn't stop there though, there are Academy Award winners including Julianne Moore, Halle Berry, and Jeff Bridges. The surprise though for many is the surprise role of screen stealing comedic relief from multi Grammy winner, Elton John, who by the way, did I tell you, is a Kung Fu, ass kicking performer who plays the role of, well, he portrays himself, Elton John. 

www.thevirtualpew.comHopefully you can begin to see the craziness of Kingsman: The Golden Circle. There is a surprisingly good plot that flows and actually has some character development. There is a war on drugs that is taking place and led by the evil villain Poppy played by Julianne Moore. She works from her unique hideout, a tribute to 50's and 60's America and movies such as American Graffiti and she attempts to make a profit and take control from the attempt to force the passage of legalizing drugs around the globe. Her attempt to blackmail world governments involves the death of millions unless passage and control of the trade is given to her. Of course there is a nonsensical  United States President who thinks that the deaths of millions would be a good thing and ultimately eliminate all of the issues related to drug usage. As a result of Poppy's attacks on The Kingsman out of England, The Kingsman end up joining forces with their United States counter parts, The Statesman. This Kentucky based, bourbon making group provides a cowboy American approaches that doesn't always get along with or is supportive with the more tailored, gentlemen's approach of the English but this conflict is a part of the fun of watching this movie and ultimately, they realize, they must work together.

www.thevirtualpew.comI love some of the spiritual concepts involved in the movie. Chief among those is a being reborn or born again approach, complete with the involvement of cocooning caterpillars turning to butterflies in the case of a character we thought had died in the predecessor The Kingsman: Secret Service, Harry Hart played by Colin Firth. We see a character that in the rebirth process has to loose his life in order to regain it by a renewing of the mind and being reborn process. In his transformation we see though that sometimes those old characteristics prior to a born again experience are important for each individual. It is as if God can use the past to bring us to the place where we can have tremendous insight and abilities to do better for the world around us. This theme is critical to the story line of Kingsman: The Golden Circle, it is a theme that in a fun, very entertaining type of way can leave some impact on each of us as we think about our role and contribution in life if we take it seriously. It also shows the abilities of people who may be different when they come together to accomplish the purpose of saving lives and caring for others. This also involves allowing one to love who they love and care for, even when the rules may initially prevent that. It is through allowing others to love unconditionally, that we find our greatest strength.

www.thevirtualpew.comI don't think I have had as much fun at a movie in a long time as I did Kingsman: The Golden Circle since the last time I saw Kingsman: The Secret Service. It should not be taken seriously in many regards, it is again a fun, action packed movie that will have you laughing out loud, holding your breath, having a good time all along the way. That said, there are still messages we can learn from, the concept of sacrifice and of giving up your life for your fellow man, remember, there is no greater love than to lay your life down for another. It is all played out and on screen in Kingsman: The Golden Circle.

www.thevirtualpew.comI believe this movie is definitely as good as the original, and it may be a movie that comes across as better than the original because of the political climate and world news we face from day to day. In a time when so many want to argue, it is nice to come together with others, who are likely different than we are, finding a way to have fun together, finding things to laugh about, talk about, and enjoy. Kingsman: The Golden Circle does that and for me was a huge breath of fresh air. It delivered and I was entertained by many surprises including, did I tell you about a Kung Fu, ass kicking Elton John, playing himself, Elton John?

On a scale of 1 - 10 for the perfection given on screen by director Matt Vaughn and the letters in his name, I give a very rare 2 times so far this year a perfectly fun, entertaining, 10.  

To see the trailer for the movie, click on the video, if the video doesn't work, try the following link:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0fvqnGmr9S8



BE ON THE LOOK OUT FOR OUR NEW CHILDREN'S BOOK, HAROLD THE ANGEL, AVAILABLE IN NOVEMBER 2017 AT AMAZON AND OTHER MAJOR RETAILERS

The Virtual Pew and our other work is supported solely by the kind contributions of others. You can click on the donate button below to give any amount to this work that does so much more than just post articles on the net; I draw no ongoing salary from the church I pastor, Mosaic Wichita which is predominantly a homeless church; I am grateful for any small amount you can contribute to help with this ministry.  Believe me, there is much more going on than most realize. I will also provide information to verify the ministry and income that comes into this ministry and work.  Thanks and feel free to share any material from The Virtual Pew, I only ask that appropriate credit is given and a link to the original site with the materials provided.

Click here to read about, and order the book, The Keystone Kid

You can also order the book at all major retailers, including Amazon, Barnes & Noble and so forth. It is available via e-book for .99 Cents or if having a way to download, can download the full audiobook at soundcloud.com and simply going to Mike Furches / The Keystone Kid. The audio version of the book is available for a free download.

http://www.mosaicwichita.com/#!store
Click here to visit the web page The Virtual Pew

Click here to follow The Virtual Pew on Twitter

Mike Furches on Faceboook.

Click here to visit Mosaic Church where Mike is Pastor

The Keystone Kid/Virtual Pew Message Boards

Click to subscribe to my blog

There are hundreds of postings so make sure to check out the archives. You can also contact me for a free audio book link of The Keystone Kid at mike@furches.org You can visit http://www.thevirtualpew.com/.

Hopefully, you will consider a gift to The Virtual Pew.

Now I get asked this quite often, Can we repost your blogs or articles? The short answer to that is, what an honor that you would ask, and by all means, spread the word. Here is our contact information

The Virtual Pew
1249 N. St. Francis
Wichita Kansas, 67214
Email: mike@furches.org

Click on the following links to learn more about The Virtual Pew

Donations to The Virtual Pew

The Virtual Pew Blog

Personal Furches Web Site

Hollywood Jesus

Reviews With Mike

The Virtual Pew Sermons

The Virtual Pew News














Thursday, September 21, 2017

American Assassin

www.thevirtualpew.com
Some people think that getting to do movie reviews and talking about movies would be great, truth is, most of the time it is but then there are the times you see a movie and it is a let down. This is especially true when you look forward to a movie, finally get to see it and it doesn't come close to your expectations, such is the case for the new release of American Assassin starring Michael Keaton and Dylan O'Brien. 

Many don't realize, there is a real skill and talent to creating movie trailers, as anyone who has ever been let down by a movie after anticipating it from watching the preview trailers knows. I have had the honor of sitting in on several film making workshops in the past including the ways to create trailers. People should know, trailer are not so much about telling you about the movie as they are in getting you interested in seeing the movie. Those responsible for the trailers for American Assassin did a great job, they created trailers that had me wanting to see this movie.

American Assassin is a movie that has as a backdrop, the CIA and their forces responsible at times for the assassination of various individuals, whether they be terrorist threats or world figures looking to do great harm to the interests of the United States. I will address this reality a bit later in the review.

www.thevirtualpew.comEarly on in the movie we see a young man, who is in love with his soon to be fiancé. The opening sequence is rather powerful, promising and thought provoking. It provides the catalyst behind what drives Mitch Rapp, played by O'Brien to become a vigilante of sorts. In the early progression of his character he ends up teaming up with the CIA and a special opps unit led by former Navy Seal, Stan Hurley, played by Michael Keaton. Hurley is a rough and tough leader who is well crafted at the skill sets needed to be a trainer of top assassins for the United States.

www.thevirtualpew.comWhile this movie is technically pretty good, it is seriously lacking in story and unfortunately the very predictable direction and script did not help. Not only is the dialog weak but the acting overall sub standard. The fight sequences are often unbelievable and seems to want the audience to take them seriously. A much more violent film that is currently out, The Hitman's Bodyguard understands the comic book touch that scenes like this needs and provide in being effective. American Assassins don't go there though. The sequences are not choreographed well and the audience sees it. There are scenes of torture that is a bit more believable, but even here, there is that something that seems to be lacking. It isn't in the acting which involves Keaton, he is a formidable actor that makes these types of scenes watchable.

With the political climate as it is around the world today, there seems to be many, from faith and non faith perspectives that questions the activities of groups like the CIA. Unfortunately, many of those groups seem to forget about the threats of those in our world who out of either vengeance, or a serious conflict of belief systems, want to kill and destroy others. There are thought provoking questions that comes from movies like American Assassin. The serious conversation of such needs by various governments need to take place. Some take a wait and see approach, sometimes, even governments take that position, but those positions, for the evil that exist in the world could and likely have and will result in even more deaths from rogue nations, terrorists and groups, whether they driven by politics or religion. The wait and see approach, often leads to an evil action, a response to an evil action can, and often times does, result in unneeded deaths.  It is not to say that all political involvement or certainly not all religious involvement falls into this category but the wait and see approach certainly does exist within some groups and sub groups as does the intent to do evil, destructive things. The question then becomes, how do you deal with it? In American Assassin we see this played out in a way many may be able to relate to, that is, what should be the response if a rogue group obtained a nuclear weapon or as many call it, a suitcase bomb?

www.thevirtualpew.comThe question of how to deal with this seems to permeate the news now a days related to terrorism and North Korea. Many Christians and people of faith seem to either take this from a nationalistic point of view or others strictly from a "peace loving" never do harm to others "Jesus" sort of way. Unfortunately, many in both groups seem to take lightly passages like Roman's 13 that speaks of Governmental responsibilities. Many have become a part of a over sensitive world where we can't even seem to discuss passages like this any more. without getting angry and writing the other group who disagrees with us off. If anything, American Assassins helps illustrate the need for that discussion, what is the responsibility of the individual Christian or person of faith, whatever that faith and what is the responsibilities of Government, whether it be from a local police department to a national group like the CIA? These are serious questions that have to be given some thought, thankfully, from at least this one reviewer, I can ask those types of questions, and hopefully people take seriously those questions as they search out the truth of their actions. Can we, should we (people of faith who hold to spiritual truths), recognize the different responsibilities and actions of us as individuals versus those of government? How do we, or should we force our religious views on those governments and should they be held responsible, as secular governmental groups, to the same standards that people of faith are held to? 

www.thevirtualpew.comThe discussion that can come about from American Assassin is one of the positive attributes of the film, there are some decent special effects and surprising moments but as a whole, this movie fell short for me. It isn't a horrible movie, but it isn't a great movie either, outside of the questions it can cause the viewer or reader of this review to ponder it is unfortunately, for me, just an average movie that is worth seeing, but only for a matinee or later via DVD or streaming option. Until then, or even now, those questions I ponder are questions I think appropriate for discussion, so if you see fit, and are willing to discuss respectfully, let's discuss.


Romans 13 Contemporary English Version (CEV)

Obey Rulers

13 Obey the rulers who have authority over you. Only God can give authority to anyone, and he puts these rulers in their places of power. People who oppose the authorities are opposing what God has done, and they will be punished. Rulers are a threat to evil people, not to good people. There is no need to be afraid of the authorities. Just do right, and they will praise you for it. After all, they are God’s servants, and it is their duty to help you.
If you do something wrong, you ought to be afraid, because these rulers have the right to punish you. They are God’s servants who punish criminals to show how angry God is. But you should obey the rulers because you know it is the right thing to do, and not just because of God’s anger.
You must also pay your taxes. The authorities are God’s servants, and it is their duty to take care of these matters. Pay all that you owe, whether it is taxes and fees or respect and honor.

Love

Let love be your only debt! If you love others, you have done all that the Law demands. In the Law there are many commands, such as, “Be faithful in marriage. Do not murder. Do not steal. Do not want what belongs to others.” But all of these are summed up in the command that says, “Love others as much as you love yourself.” 10 No one who loves others will harm them. So love is all that the Law demands.

The Day When Christ Returns

11 You know what sort of times we live in, and so you should live properly. It is time to wake up. You know that the day when we will be saved is nearer now than when we first put our faith in the Lord. 12 Night is almost over, and day will soon appear. We must stop behaving as people do in the dark and be ready to live in the light. 13 So behave properly, as people do in the day. Don’t go to wild parties or get drunk or be vulgar or indecent. Don’t quarrel or be jealous. 14 Let the Lord Jesus Christ be as near to you as the clothes you wear. Then you won’t try to satisfy your selfish desires.


On a scale of 1 - 10 for the average movie it is, I would give a basic C rating, or in a 1 - 10 scale, a rating of 5.  So take your chances if you will but in this busy movie season, don't be surprised if you are a little disappointed.
To see the trailer for this movie, just click on the following video, if the video doesn't appear, try the link.


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VW0PrPgI8F8




BE ON THE LOOK OUT FOR OUR NEW CHILDREN'S BOOK, HAROLD THE ANGEL, AVAILABLE IN NOVEMBER 2017 AT AMAZON AND OTHER MAJOR RETAILERS

The Virtual Pew and our other work is supported solely by the kind contributions of others. You can click on the donate button below to give any amount to this work that does so much more than just post articles on the net; I draw no ongoing salary from the church I pastor, Mosaic Wichita which is predominantly a homeless church; I am grateful for any small amount you can contribute to help with this ministry.  Believe me, there is much more going on than most realize. I will also provide information to verify the ministry and income that comes into this ministry and work.  Thanks and feel free to share any material from The Virtual Pew, I only ask that appropriate credit is given and a link to the original site with the materials provided.

Click here to read about, and order the book, The Keystone Kid

You can also order the book at all major retailers, including Amazon, Barnes & Noble and so forth. It is available via e-book for .99 Cents or if having a way to download, can download the full audiobook at soundcloud.com and simply going to Mike Furches / The Keystone Kid. The audio version of the book is available for a free download.

http://www.mosaicwichita.com/#!store
Click here to visit the web page The Virtual Pew

Click here to follow The Virtual Pew on Twitter

Mike Furches on Faceboook.

Click here to visit Mosaic Church where Mike is Pastor

The Keystone Kid/Virtual Pew Message Boards

Click to subscribe to my blog

There are hundreds of postings so make sure to check out the archives. You can also contact me for a free audio book link of The Keystone Kid at mike@furches.org You can visit http://www.thevirtualpew.com/.

Hopefully, you will consider a gift to The Virtual Pew.

Now I get asked this quite often, Can we repost your blogs or articles? The short answer to that is, what an honor that you would ask, and by all means, spread the word. Here is our contact information

The Virtual Pew
1249 N. St. Francis
Wichita Kansas, 67214
Email: mike@furches.org

Click on the following links to learn more about The Virtual Pew

Donations to The Virtual Pew

The Virtual Pew Blog

Personal Furches Web Site

Hollywood Jesus

Reviews With Mike

The Virtual Pew Sermons

The Virtual Pew News











Monday, September 18, 2017

Stephen King's It, A Comparative Review of 1990 and 2017 Version

www.thevirtualpew.com
In the past I have tried to review a movie based on its own merit, especially when a movie is based on has been previously released in a different era. While that is my intent, I don't know if an appropriate review of the new theatrical release of Stephen King's It, (2017) can be done without referencing throughout the review and commenting in some aspects on the 1990 Television Miniseries. I have seen many people making comparisons of the new release and the 1990 release and while I have had many requests, (more than any movie ever) to review the 2017 theatrical version of It, I don't think an adequate review can be made without a comparison and understanding of the effort to stay close to the original television mini series in 1990.

Let's get this monkey off my back right away, you cannot compare the two programs as the new 2017 theatrical version is in reality a telling of the story involving the 7 primary, young, pre teen, early teen youth in their interactions with the clown Pennywise. The 1990 version, ala Star Wars, is a telling of the story some 30 years after the youth experience. In other words, you can't really understand the totality of the story without watching both movies which will involve some 5 1/2 hours, of course it is impossible to currently watch them together, but, it is possible to do it over the course of 2 days, and if having time, in a single day. My recommendation would be to watch the 2017 theatrical version of It first, then watch the earlier 1990 version, in that order. You will see the primary story told through the experiences and time frame of the children, and then will also see the story as it completes some 30 years later when those children are adults. While there are flashback scenes in the 1990 television mini series that sees the story from the perspective of the children, it is amazing at how close the 2017 version is to the 1990 version flashbacks, and in some instances telling other things related to the experiences of the youth, in everything from the characters story to backgrounds and so forth. Even the characteristics and physical appearance of the children are similar. It is in this regard that one quickly begins to see the brilliance of everything related to the 2017 release.

www.thevirtualpew.comOne of the primary differences as can be expected is that a lot has been done in regards to CGI and special effects, along with film from 1990 until 2017. One also has to understand the money available to make the 2017 version as opposed to the amount spent on a 1990 television mini series on ABC. I have to comment here, I had not seen the original 1990 version since its original airing until yesterday. At the time I didn't like the television movie when I first saw it, but after watching it alongside the 2017 release, I felt it completed the story of the 2017 release and was actually quite good, except as I have stated numerous times before, the ending.  I have said in this regard over many years that I believe Stephen King tells a great story but has trouble at times in ending that story.  I still feel the same regarding It, especially the 1990 version. 

www.thevirtualpew.comAs mentioned there are some wonderful things about the 1990 version when doing a comparison review of the 2017 release.  There are tidbits that I love and without giving away to much or giving spoilers, as an example there is a scene in the 1990 version where a comment is made about security guard Dean Koontz, "yeah, he's a bad one."  This was a bit of humor that Stephen King threw in to make a reference to his rival, author Dean Koontz. There are many other things, including Easter Eggs that are included in both versions of the film. I will post a video with some spoilers that will point out some of those Easter Eggs.

In the newer 2017 version we also see some beautiful, although haunting cinematography. We also see a movie that does not have to deal with television censors or ratings systems of the 1990's. In other words, we see a truly haunting and at times disturbing graphic story involving children. In this regard, King, while receiving some criticism, has done a masterful job at showing disturbing images involving children. He is not afraid to show the most horrific images because they are so disturbing and he wants to play on the minds of the viewer or reader as to the reality of dark horror. He understands the concept of the darkest of all powers seeking to do danger even to the smallest of God's creation, the most innocent, the most undeserving.  Just as we see a dead community and church in Derry Maine, we also see a group of innocent children that try to discover concepts of brotherhood, sisterhood, faith, commitment and a willingness to come together to fight against dark forces that dwells and focuses on fear. In this portrayal we see some incredible direction, especially in the 2017 version directed by  Andy Muschietti. As a part of that brilliance I will mention again, the faithfulness to the 1990 version, including the look and attributes of the children in the movie. We also see a brilliant effort at direction in other aspects even more important. While there are some differences, those differences are minor in many regards.

There are several social themes addressed in both versions of the film but even more so in a realistic way in the 2017 version. Among those themes, in both variations are issues like racism, where we see the way the community sees Michael, especially in the 1990 version and to some extent as well, the 2017 version. We also see how violence can impact a child, especially when forced on that child by an uncaring adult. We also see issues addressed like social shaming whether it be towards people overweight, gay and so forth. For me though, the most powerful issue that is addressed is the issue of child sexual abuse and bullying. While both of these have had some recent revelations placed on them it should be noted that Stephen King was addressing those issues even back in 1990. They are portrayed in a respectful, yet real way in the 2017 version. The 2017 version pulls no punches, those things still exist and are still swept under the rug by many, including many in the faith community who while present in the community as is evidenced by their large well maintained buildings, still have not nearly enough, if anyone, addressing the real horrors that are so prevalent in the lives of those children, those things that in reality, lead to the fears that ultimately can kill and destroy innocents.

www.thevirtualpew.comThe primary object of evil seen in the movie is through Clown Pennywise. While many, just as I do, love the early portrayal by Tim Curry, I also thought the portrayal by Bill Skarsgard, (also in the current release of Atomic Blonde) in the 2017 version is quite exceptional. This is no ordinary clown and the character is so demented that it could be said that Stephen King's Pennywise is likely more responsible for the demise of Clowns as a fun jolly character regarding public perception than anything in history.

In the 1990 version we see the children played as adults by notable actors such as Harry Anderson, Dennis Christopher, (one of my favorite largely unknown actors), Annette O'Toole, Tim Reid, John Ritter, and Richard Thomas among others. The cast as children in the 2017 version play remarkable likenesses again to the original children portrayed in flashbacks from the 1990 version. The 2017 actors do an amazing job in all aspects. It may be one of the most amazing ensemble cast of children in any film I have ever seen alongside another Stephen King based movie, Stand By Me. This is again, a huge credit to the direction and script related to the 2017 version. In a word, it is outstanding.

www.thevirtualpew.comOne of the things that constantly gets me into trouble with a few readers is my love of horror, especially when done well. I fully expect that my review of  It will be no exception. I had trouble even finding someone to go see this movie with, my wife hates horror but she finally agreed to go, that said, the spiritual themes addressed in It are tremendous. The development of how fear can keep us from the things we need and can obtain, to the terror that is placed on children, not just by the author of fear, but by adults who have little knowledge or compassion of the things that builds on the fears of children, yet, Stephen King, a man that seemingly many seem to hate gets it or at least appears to get it and is not afraid to address it. Using religious references as he often times does even in these two films and in the story. King and the movies includes a backdrop of faith, whether it be a Jewish child going through a Bar Mitzvah who has a dad as a Rabbi or a young girl who is being abused by a father physically and sexually who knows her salvation comes from God as is evidenced by her willingness to pray and ask God to help her in a moment of need.  The children know they are facing evil that only the children have a faith to not only see and know that evil exists but in the end knows of the important things they must do including coming together to ultimately defeat evil. These are things one would think would be taught by faith groups and the church, but they are often ignored because of the lack of faith adults sometimes have regarding children, yet as we can read in the Bible, as adults, we must have the faith of a child in order to enter the kingdom of Heaven, not just on the good Godly things, but I believe as illustrated in the movie, even towards evil things. Of course we also see the danger, especially in the 1990 version of children who grow away from that faith and innocence, just like in the real world, many, like in the movie who lose some aspects of faith and of the things that once brought them together to protect them from evil.

www.thevirtualpew.comIt is not a story for everyone, just as horror is not a genera for everyone. That isn't to say horror can't be exceptional or good though and in the case of both of these versions, when combined as they really should be as a companion piece as opposed to a "remake," It truly is an exceptional story. For me it took the 2017 version to complete the 1990 version and again, the 2017 should be seen first, but then after seeing it, make sure to find a way to watch the 1990 version as soon as possible afterwards as it completes the story.

I suspect that with the intent to make more money, the 1990 version of the movie will  actually be remade. The 2017 version isn't a remake but a prequel to the 1990 version and it will be a way for the movie makers to make more money. I won't be opposed to that though, especially if they hold to the original intent and message of the first two movies, which took place some 27 years apart. 

www.thevirtualpew.comBoth versions of It, when seen together is a wonderful horror film, complete with the full intent regarding social commentary and more. Thankfully, the way it is now, you won't miss anything by seeing the new release in theaters first. Prepare to be scared and if you haven't seen It yet, well think about the things I speak about here in this review. If you have seen it, go back watch the 1990 version and think about the things I say here, that is if you can handle It. We can actually be moved from losers to lovers if we only learn to love one another and be there for each other in the times of need when we need each other.

On a scale of 1 - 10 to review It as a compilation as opposed to a single movie I will make a wise decision minus the penny from the dime and give the compilation of the 1990 and 2017 versions together, a deserved horrific 9.  

For a video looking at some Easter Eggs in It, click on the video below.  If the video doesn't appear, try the following link.  Warning This does contain some spoilers:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7zE0qPCmugk





BE ON THE LOOK OUT FOR OUR NEW CHILDREN'S BOOK, HAROLD THE ANGEL, AVAILABLE IN NOVEMBER 2017 AT AMAZON AND OTHER MAJOR RETAILERS

The Virtual Pew and our other work is supported solely by the kind contributions of others. You can click on the donate button below to give any amount to this work that does so much more than just post articles on the net; I draw no ongoing salary from the church I pastor, Mosaic Wichita which is predominantly a homeless church; I am grateful for any small amount you can contribute to help with this ministry.  Believe me, there is much more going on than most realize. I will also provide information to verify the ministry and income that comes into this ministry and work.  Thanks and feel free to share any material from The Virtual Pew, I only ask that appropriate credit is given and a link to the original site with the materials provided.

Click here to read about, and order the book, The Keystone Kid

You can also order the book at all major retailers, including Amazon, Barnes & Noble and so forth. It is available via e-book for .99 Cents or if having a way to download, can download the full audiobook at soundcloud.com and simply going to Mike Furches / The Keystone Kid. The audio version of the book is available for a free download.

http://www.mosaicwichita.com/#!store
Click here to visit the web page The Virtual Pew

Click here to follow The Virtual Pew on Twitter

Mike Furches on Faceboook.

Click here to visit Mosaic Church where Mike is Pastor

The Keystone Kid/Virtual Pew Message Boards

Click to subscribe to my blog

There are hundreds of postings so make sure to check out the archives. You can also contact me for a free audio book link of The Keystone Kid at mike@furches.org You can visit http://www.thevirtualpew.com/.

Hopefully, you will consider a gift to The Virtual Pew.

Now I get asked this quite often, Can we repost your blogs or articles? The short answer to that is, what an honor that you would ask, and by all means, spread the word. Here is our contact information

The Virtual Pew
1249 N. St. Francis
Wichita Kansas, 67214
Email: mike@furches.org

Click on the following links to learn more about The Virtual Pew

Donations to The Virtual Pew

The Virtual Pew Blog

Personal Furches Web Site

Hollywood Jesus

Reviews With Mike

The Virtual Pew Sermons

The Virtual Pew News










Thursday, September 14, 2017

Wind River

www.thevirtualpew.com
Today's movie going audience is unfortunately conditioned to fast paced action laced with violence, sex and more often than not, void of story. We are used to thirty second blurbs and communicating in styles requiring less than 128 characters. As a result of our conditioning many have unfortunately lost sight of and seldom engage in real story which takes time for character development and the potential to draw our innermost thoughts and questions into the story. It is a shame because as a result of our conditioning we have lost sight on the beauty of such films and story included in films like Wind River.  We seldom read stories or books and unfortunately for many, seldom see movies like Wind River.

Last years little hit movie Hell or High Water with Jeff Bridges garnered deserving Oscar consideration in various areas. It was a delicious delight for people like me who appreciate a well crafted story. Thankfully Hell or High Water film had an audience, and that audience and others will likely love Wind River.

www.thevirtualpew.comWind River reminds me of the well reviewed and loved television show Longmire with a taste of storytelling resembling Hell or High Water. In other words, it is a movie I loved. Jeremy Renner plays Fish and Wildlife Officer Cory Lambert who is a tracker and hunter whom removes vermin such as coyotes, wolves and mountain lions who kill ranch animals on the massive Indian Reservation, Wind River. After coming across the dead body of a female he knows while out hunting he gets involved in trying to solve the death along with tribal law enforcement headed up by Ben played by Graham Green and FBI agent, Jane Banner played by Elizabeth Olson. While there is a good supporting cast, these three drive the film with their tremendous acting and incredibly well crafted story directed by Taylor Sheridan who also wrote the script.

www.thevirtualpew.com
Wind River is euphoria for the eyes and more importantly, the mind. Sheridan has a habit of being involved in quality movies as of late including Sicario and my favorite of last year, Hell or High Water. He continues that quality craftsmanship in Wind River. While there isn't any over the top cinematography as an example, what we do have is so realistic that we don't feel like we are watching a documentary as much as we as the viewer are engaged in the story that is taking place before us. There is something to be said about the ability to do this, the story does not have any technical aspects that take away from the story, instead everything from the sound to the cinematography as an example, only contribute to the story.  We don't have as much of an art experience as we do an engaging story, while having a few faults, is still so rare now a days that one can't help but still be thrilled by the experience.

Much of the story in Wind River deals with coming together in uncomfortable settings to stand up for and speak out against those who are often forgotten about. We see this especially in the character of Jane, an FBI agent stationed in Las Vegas who is terribly out of her element in the early Spring, yet still very cold and snowy climate of Wyoming. She as a character has something inherently good about her and is observed as she chooses to care for an Indian lady who has been found dead by Fish and Wildlife officer Cory Lambert. She recognizes early on that she will need to depend on his skill sets to go out of her way to find resolve to a death that the system seems to care very little about or has little funding to focus on.  This part of the story is incredibly accurate to the real Wind River as will be illustrated later on, but in a community the size of Delaware in the United States of America that has a life expectancy similar to that of a third world country, it would come across from observations, that just like in the movie, few seem to really care about the plight of these peoples.

www.thevirtualpew.comThe message of coming together, carrying for each other is an important message for those of us recognizing much of what is going on in today's world where it seems as if there is so much more of a focus on self than there is others. While some may see a drug addict or a father or mother that may seem to not care, we must go beyond the obvious outward signs to search deeper to discover the reality of what is going on. This is especially true when there are the cultural differences that may exist and the conditions, whether self inflicted or inflicted by society that makes life for people difficult.

There is a need if you will to discover that just as we can read about in the Bible, there are universal similarities and in some ways, while we may focus on the differences, we should also look for and recognize the universal similarities.

"no matter if that person is a Jew or a Gentile. There is only one Lord, and he is generous to everyone who asks for his help." ~ Romans 10:12

"Faith in Christ Jesus is what makes each of you equal with each other, whether you are a Jew or a Greek, a slave or a free person, a man or a woman." ~ Galatians 3:28

We must also realize, that when Jesus was asked, "Am I my brothers keeper?"  His response could be easily translated, "You're darned right you are!"

www.thevirtualpew.comIs there a need to care about the oppressed in our world today?  You bet there is, for example, one of the examples pointed out in Wind River is that “While missing person statistics are compiled for every other demographic, none exist for Native American women.”  Details such as this should motivate us to action; action like what is illustrated in Wind River. We should care about our fellow human being enough to make a difference, even when that involves coming together with those who may be so different that we would have never expected to go together on the same journey. 

Wind River is not a perfect movie, but it may be a perfect movie for today's world, a movie that could cause us to think, and one that could, for some if willing to try, could have us engaged in not just story, but story that could make a difference.

On a scale of 1 - 10, for the 9 letters in Wind River I will give it a very thought provoking, and wonderfully appreciated rating of a 9  

To view the trailer for the movie Wind River, just click on the video below, if the video doesn't work, try the following link:

 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zN9PDOoLAfg




 BE ON THE LOOK OUT FOR OUR NEW CHILDREN'S BOOK, HAROLD THE ANGEL, AVAILABLE IN NOVEMBER 2017 AT AMAZON AND OTHER MAJOR RETAILERS

The Virtual Pew and our other work is supported solely by the kind contributions of others. You can click on the donate button below to give any amount to this work that does so much more than just post articles on the net; I draw no ongoing salary from the church I pastor, Mosaic Wichita which is predominantly a homeless church; I am grateful for any small amount you can contribute to help with this ministry.  Believe me, there is much more going on than most realize. I will also provide information to verify the ministry and income that comes into this ministry and work.  Thanks and feel free to share any material from The Virtual Pew, I only ask that appropriate credit is given and a link to the original site with the materials provided.

Click here to read about, and order the book, The Keystone Kid

You can also order the book at all major retailers, including Amazon, Barnes & Noble and so forth. It is available via e-book for .99 Cents or if having a way to download, can download the full audiobook at soundcloud.com and simply going to Mike Furches / The Keystone Kid. The audio version of the book is available for a free download.

http://www.mosaicwichita.com/#!store
Click here to visit the web page The Virtual Pew

Click here to follow The Virtual Pew on Twitter

Mike Furches on Faceboook.

Click here to visit Mosaic Church where Mike is Pastor

The Keystone Kid/Virtual Pew Message Boards

Click to subscribe to my blog

There are hundreds of postings so make sure to check out the archives. You can also contact me for a free audio book link of The Keystone Kid at mike@furches.org You can visit http://www.thevirtualpew.com/.

Hopefully, you will consider a gift to The Virtual Pew.

Now I get asked this quite often, Can we repost your blogs or articles? The short answer to that is, what an honor that you would ask, and by all means, spread the word. Here is our contact information

The Virtual Pew
1249 N. St. Francis
Wichita Kansas, 67214
Email: mike@furches.org

Click on the following links to learn more about The Virtual Pew

Donations to The Virtual Pew

The Virtual Pew Blog

Personal Furches Web Site

Hollywood Jesus

Reviews With Mike

The Virtual Pew Sermons

The Virtual Pew News





 



Wednesday, August 23, 2017

Annabelle Creation

www.thevirtualpew.com
Back in 2013 I did an initial review of the movie, The Conjuring which can be seen by clicking this link. As a part of the story which focused on real life paranormal investigators, Ed and Lorraine Warren was the backdrop of a story related to a doll, Annabelle. The story of Annabelle has now gone on to inspire 2 movies of its own, Annabelle and the new Annabelle Creation. As was intended with the movie that brought about the story line, The Conjuring, along with each of the story lines in the subsequent movies has had as a surprise to many, a deep, Christian based theme dealing with good versus evil and the existence of not just God but also evil.

Horror movies for me have for years been among my favorite to review due to the overwhelming message of good versus evil, light over dark and Christ power to conquer evil and Satan like no other style of story. The irony of it all is that no other form or style of movie has generated as much controversy among my many readers and friends as the genera of Horror. In many ways, while some may not like the concept, I believe it is sad as it is an easy way for many to ignore the reality of evil in our world and if Paul was correct in his comments in his writings in the Bible, we need to remember, especially those like me who say they are followers of Jesus that:

"We are not fighting against humans. We are fighting against forces and authorities and against rulers of darkness and powers in the spiritual world." Ephesians 6:12. 

www.thevirtualpew.com
It seems as if in this verse and many others in the Bible there is a recognition that there are evil forces all around us that we are engaging in battle with. This isn't just a part of the Judeo Christian values, it is a prevalent theme in many religious belief systems including Islam, Hinduism and others.

Those themes are especially evident throughout the movie Annabelle Creation. While this movie is not based on a true story such as The Conjuring is, it is based on a real character, the Annabelle doll, although the doll in the museum still ran by Lorraine Warren is actually a Raggedy Ann Doll. It should be noted that a tribute of sorts is paid to the real doll in this movie despite the use of the "scary" doll and image throughout the film.

www.thevirtualpew.comThis movie is not for everyone, the opening scenes include a horrific scene of death of a child, something not seen in such graphic detail normally in movies. A part of that is the horror of the story though and one of the things that draws in the viewer to the family and characters in the movie.

In the movie a family who has experienced a horrific death of a daughter decides a number of years later to take in a group of young ladies and children in the form of offering their home up as an orphanage. While in the home a number of scary things begin to happen and the spirits which had been invited into the home earlier start haunting the inhabitants of the home. It becomes clear early on, these aren't ghosts doing the haunting but demonic forces.

www.thevirtualpew.com
From this point not much likely needs to be said other than the direction for Annabelle Creation does not disappoint. There are numerous scary sequences but it is supported with some good acting, especially among the child actors in the film including Talitha Bateman who plays a young polio victim during the early to late 1930's named Janice. The girls are supervised and given support by Nun, Sister Charlotte played by Stephanie Sigman. Another technical aspect the film excels at is its music and sound. There are few films that show the power of quality sound and music like horror and in many ways these aspects become as much of a character of the film as does any of the actors on screen.

www.thevirtualpew.comThere are many aspects of this movie which would be interesting to sit down and engage in a meaningful conversation about. For example, does evil truly exist? What forms of evil exist? How does on conquer and defeat evil? Why do horror films always seem to have as a representation on the ways to defeat evil a cross, bible or other references to light and Jesus? How has faith impacted the attitudes of those in our world regarding evil? How seriously do people of faith take evil? As you can see I could go on and on with questions of this type. 

 Annabelle Creation presents a side of evil to the extreme, a side where we see the comparisons of faith in virtually every scene in the movie, where crosses are intentionally shown, whether on the side of the road or on a doorway behind a nun.

www.thevirtualpew.comMovies can get people to think and Annabelle Creation is no exception. This movie gets us to think about evil and the ultimate way it can impact people and the world around us. I do think that while those themes are addressed there were some issues related to the film that were a bit of a let down. The direction could have been a tad better and at times, I felt it played on some horror aspects a bit too much and I would liked to have had more questions answered. While those are my preferences, some will see this as a positive thing as they like imaging their own conclusions and answers, I understand that but I just felt it a bit lacking.

Annabelle Creation is not as scary as some make it out to be, although there are those jump out of your seat, cover your eyes moments. It is entertaining though and holds your attention and for me, even some time after seeing the movie, has me asking myself questions, contemplating my own faith and the reality of evil. That is a well worth while concept, like it or not, believe it or not. 

On a scale of 1 - 10, for the perfect number, or so some say, I give it a deserving and entertaining 7

To see the trailer for the film, click on the following video, if the video doesn't appear, try the link:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KisPhy7T__Q



The Virtual Pew and our other work is supported solely by the kind contributions of others. You can click on the donate button below to give any amount to this work that does so much more than just post articles on the net; I draw no ongoing salary from the church I pastor, Mosaic Wichita which is predominantly a homeless church; I am grateful for any small amount you can contribute to help with this ministry.  Believe me, there is much more going on than most realize. I will also provide information to verify the ministry and income that comes into this ministry and work.  Thanks and feel free to share any material from The Virtual Pew, I only ask that appropriate credit is given and a link to the original site with the materials provided.

Click here to read about, and order the book, The Keystone Kid

You can also order the book at all major retailers, including Amazon, Barnes & Noble and so forth. It is available via e-book for .99 Cents or if having a way to download, can download the full audiobook at soundcloud.com and simply going to Mike Furches / The Keystone Kid. The audio version of the book is available for a free download.

http://www.mosaicwichita.com/#!store
Click here to visit the web page The Virtual Pew

Click here to follow The Virtual Pew on Twitter

Mike Furches on Faceboook.

Click here to visit Mosaic Church where Mike is Pastor

The Keystone Kid/Virtual Pew Message Boards

Click to subscribe to my blog

There are hundreds of postings so make sure to check out the archives. You can also contact me for a free audio book link of The Keystone Kid at mike@furches.org You can visit http://www.thevirtualpew.com/.

Hopefully, you will consider a gift to The Virtual Pew.

Now I get asked this quite often, Can we repost your blogs or articles? The short answer to that is, what an honor that you would ask, and by all means, spread the word. Here is our contact information

The Virtual Pew
1249 N. St. Francis
Wichita Kansas, 67214
Email: mike@furches.org

Click on the following links to learn more about The Virtual Pew

Donations to The Virtual Pew

The Virtual Pew Blog

Personal Furches Web Site

Hollywood Jesus

Reviews With Mike

The Virtual Pew Sermons

The Virtual Pew News



Logan Lucky

www.thevirtualpew.com
Logan Lucky is a new film now in theaters directed by Steven Soderbergh known from the Oceans 11, 12, and 13 movies. The formula involving detailed robberies of banks and casinos seems to be a formula that has worked for Soderbergh. Logan Lucky follows that formula in some ways but instead of high profile criminals who specialize in robbery this movie has rednecks from West Virginia working together to rob a NACAR event in Charlotte North Carolina. On the surface this would appear, as is presented in the trailers, for the film to be a rather entertaining comedy. While there are comedic moments, the laughs are few and far between and despite an incredible cast, the movie falls somewhat short in many areas and at the same time, surprisingly good in others.

The cast is quite superb in Logan Lucky. The movie features the talents of Channing Tatum as Jimmy Logan and his brother and sister are played by Adam Driver and Riley Keough. This misfit family has a history of tragedy and when Jimmy Logan, a past football hero, loses his job while working at Charlotte Motor Speedway due to a pre existing condition related to insurance costs, he decides it would be possible to rob the Speedway and get away with it. He solicits the help of Joe Bang, a prisoner at the local prison played wonderfully by Daniel Craig. This role by Craig is alone borderline worth seeing the movie for. Craig's character recognizes the need to bring in additional help so he brings in his cousins, Joe Bang and Fish Bang played by Brian Gleeson and Jack Quaid. There are other notables in the film such as Seth McFarlane, Katie Holmes, Hillary Swank and many others that have star power written all around them. Unfortunately, outside of Craig, few actually deliver on their performance in quite the way one would want.

www.thevirtualpew.com
One of the things I did like about the film, other than some of the technical aspects like sound-track, and Daniel Craig was the story line between a father, Jimmy Logan played by Channing and his ex-wife Bobbie Jo Chapman played by Katie Holmes and the custody issues related to their daughter, Sadie, played by Farrah Mackenzie. So many times, especially in comedies the relationship between parents in a split marriage and their spouses is played in a devastating way, here though, you see the ex's getting along, doing what they perceive to be best for their daughter and the relationship between the new husband, Moody and old husband Logan is nice to see on screen. It is clear the dynamic of a split marriage can work if effort is made. All parties here have the best interest of the child at heart and listens to and respects the input from each other in regards to the welfare of the child.

www.thevirtualpew.comThere are other aspects I liked in Logan Lucky, the importance of working together, respecting those you love and the individual talents of each person in a particular situation. The group intending to rob the speedway recognizes the role of each other if they are going to be successful. This reminded me of a comment from Francis Chan I had heard on the same day on the importance of the church using the talents of the people in the church if they are going to be effective in carrying out the mission of the church. Just as in life, or in a place of work, team or any other concept where people work together, the theme of using each others skills, to the best of ones ability and working together is an important skill set to learn if one wants to be effective in what they are doing.

www.thevirtualpew.com
All in all, while there are some impressive aspects about Logan Lucky I liked and while a seemingly convoluted story does come together in the end, I was still disappointed. For a film with so much potential, there should have been a better story line, I felt the movie and direction had issues from the beginning. Was this to be a comedy, action film or what?  The clarity of that never happens and I left the theater thinking, it was okay, had some good moments, but all in all, was disappointed.

In a summer filled with blockbusters it will also have some flops, so on a scale from 1 - 10 for the letters in the word flops, I give a somewhat lackluster, 5.

To see the trailer for the movie, just click on the video below, if that doesn't work just click on the following link:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aPzvKH8AVf0




The Virtual Pew and our other work is supported solely by the kind contributions of others. You can click on the donate button below to give any amount to this work that does so much more than just post articles on the net; I draw no ongoing salary from the church I pastor, Mosaic Wichita which is predominantly a homeless church; I am grateful for any small amount you can contribute to help with this ministry.  Believe me, there is much more going on than most realize. I will also provide information to verify the ministry and income that comes into this ministry and work.  Thanks and feel free to share any material from The Virtual Pew, I only ask that appropriate credit is given and a link to the original site with the materials provided.

Click here to read about, and order the book, The Keystone Kid

You can also order the book at all major retailers, including Amazon, Barnes & Noble and so forth. It is available via e-book for .99 Cents or if having a way to download, can download the full audiobook at soundcloud.com and simply going to Mike Furches / The Keystone Kid. The audio version of the book is available for a free download.

http://www.mosaicwichita.com/#!store
Click here to visit the web page The Virtual Pew

Click here to follow The Virtual Pew on Twitter

Mike Furches on Faceboook.

Click here to visit Mosaic Church where Mike is Pastor

The Keystone Kid/Virtual Pew Message Boards

Click to subscribe to my blog

There are hundreds of postings so make sure to check out the archives. You can also contact me for a free audio book link of The Keystone Kid at mike@furches.org You can visit http://www.thevirtualpew.com/.

Hopefully, you will consider a gift to The Virtual Pew.

Now I get asked this quite often, Can we repost your blogs or articles? The short answer to that is, what an honor that you would ask, and by all means, spread the word. Here is our contact information

The Virtual Pew
1249 N. St. Francis
Wichita Kansas, 67214
Email: mike@furches.org

Click on the following links to learn more about The Virtual Pew

Donations to The Virtual Pew

The Virtual Pew Blog

Personal Furches Web Site

Hollywood Jesus

Reviews With Mike

The Virtual Pew Sermons

The Virtual Pew News



Friday, August 4, 2017

Stephen King's The Dark Tower


www.thevirtualpew.com
Okay here goes, this will be one of those reviews that Pharisaic Christians will blast, put down, and on social media condemn and unfriend me for. Why? Because it is a review of the new Stephen King film The Dark Tower. Many will ask what in the world is a Christian reviewing such a horrible horror author like Stephen King for? Well I will tell you unapologetically, it is because horror tells a spiritual story like no other genera in my opinion. I also happen to think Stephen King often times tells a great story, mixed in with tons of spiritual symbolism, far more often than not pointing to the battle of good versus evil and in the case of The Dark Tower with symbolism that clearly points to a Messiah, Christ figure. I only wish that Stephen King could end a story as well as he tells it, there are times he does but I often find myself disappointed with the endings of the movies based on his stories.

The Dark Tower is loaded with star power, specifically Matthew McConaughey, Idris Elba, and Jackie Earle Haley among others. The movie is based on one of Stephen Kings most popular series of novels, The Dark Tower series.  King, while known for horror also writes some provocative thriller's. That is what The Dark Tower Series is, unfortunately, from the git-go, this shortened, 90 minute movie falls short in about every way imaginable with the exception of spiritual symbolism. 

www.thevirtualpew.com
Idris Elba is the primary actor playing the part of The Gunslinger. Elba first came to my attention in 2005 with his role in the wonderful film The Gospel, a modern day parable of The Prodigal Son. He has been in the press a lot lately for various reasons. His star power continues to rise and he was the reported replacement for Daniel Craig as James Bond in the 007 James Bond series. Unfortunately, at least at this time, Elba will not be taking on the job of Bond but he has enough star power to make the first weekend of The Dark Tower a contender for the weekends box office champion. Unfortunately, due to the lackluster story, and the convoluted editing and direction, I don't expect that will carry it past the first weekend.

The storyline in The Dark Tower is essentially void of plot and character development. It is as if Sony Pictures knew they had a flop of a movie and rushed it to screen to get what they could out of it as opposed to making the movie that King and the story itself deserved. 

www.thevirtualpew.comOne of the bright points, if not the only bright point of the movie is the spiritual symbolism which is heavily sprinkled throughout the story. There is enough of a story line to understand the classic battle of Good versus Evil. This is especially so in various ways such as, just as there is a division between Heaven and Hell, in the movie, there are different dimensions with ways to cross those dimensions involving if you will, heavenly forces seeking to either kill and destroy, or to save humanity. The Gunslinger, (Elba) is a Christ figure who alone can defeat the evil Man in Black, played by Matthew McConaughey. The Man in Black is a clear representation of Satan, he seeks to destroy earth and all of her inhabitants. He seeks to do so by using the innocence and power of children to ultimately destroy the Dark Tower, he knows once it is destroyed, destruction will reign down on earth. He uses demon like characters and evil disciples to carry out his commands. His primary obstacle is in finding and destroying an innocent and perfect child. Lucas Hanson, played by Nicholas Hamilton is that child, one who is not understood and picked on and abused in many ways. While he has a loving mother, he doesn't know his father, only a step-father. Nicholas realizes what is going on in the dimensions around him from the visions he has been having. He ultimately hooks up with The Gunslinger and together they join forces to save the earth and humanity.

www.thevirtualpew.comIn the story, just as in faith specific to Christianity, battles have to be fought and victories won, often those victories come at a cost. I won't give much away other than to say I did love the illustrations specific to giving oneself up to the protection and direction of a savior and the sacrifices that savior makes, including going through what resembles a water baptism, and taking marks onto both of his hands (strongly resembling crucifixion marks) to ultimately defeat evil after an apparent resurrection from the dead.

Over the years Stephen King has been heavily criticized by many Christians in particular for the "evil" they say he promotes, yet, in many of his stories there is strong Christian symbolism and that symbolism doesn't stop with The Dark Tower. I just wish there had been a story that had gone with it and better direction. In all honesty, the first thirty minutes of the movie for me was so boring that if I hadn't been there with a friend, and there for the purpose of reviewing the movie, I would have left the theater or gone to another movie.

The Dark Tower is not a good movie, it is not a movie I could encourage anyone to see. It is a movie

however that I would gladly bring up the spiritual symbolic points I have in my review here. My personal recommendation is that if you are a fan of the books, that at best pay for a matinee, or even better, waiting until the movie is streamed for free on your streaming provider of choice. I hate to give a bad review to a movie I was anticipating so much but the most horrific part of this movie, isn't the story, it is the movie itself.

On a scale of 1 - 10, for the 3 nails used to crucify Christ and the one spear that pierced his side, I give a very disappointing 4.



To see the trailer for the movie, click on the following video, if the link doesn't work, try the following url:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GjwfqXTebIY




The Virtual Pew and our other work is supported solely by the kind contributions of others. You can click on the donate button below to give any amount to this work that does so much more than just post articles on the net; I draw no ongoing salary from the ministry I do; I am grateful for any small amount you can contribute to help with this ministry and ongoing costs.  Believe me there is much more going on than most realize. I will also provide information to verify the ministry and income that comes into this ministry and work expenditures that go out.  Thanks and feel free to share any material from The Virtual Pew, I only ask that appropriate credit is given and a link to the original site with the materials provided.

Also be on the lookout for our new children's book coming out Winter of 2017 titled Herald The Angel. 

Click here to read about, and order the book, The Keystone Kid

http://www.mosaicwichita.com/#!store
Click here to visit the web page The Virtual Pew

Click here to follow The Virtual Pew on Twitter

Mike Furches on Faceboook.

Click here to visit Mosaic Church where Mike is Pastor

The Keystone Kid/Virtual Pew Message Boards

Click to subscribe to my blog

There are hundreds of postings so make sure to check out the archives. You can also contact me for a free audio book link of The Keystone Kid at mike@furches.org You can visit http://www.thevirtualpew.com/.

Hopefully, you will consider a gift to The Virtual Pew.

Now I get asked this quite often, Can we repost your blogs or articles? The short answer to that is, what an honor that you would ask, and by all means, spread the word. Here is our contact information

The Virtual Pew
1249 N. St. Francis
Wichita Kansas, 67214
Email: mike@furches.org

Click on the following links to learn more about The Virtual Pew

Donations to The Virtual Pew

The Virtual Pew Blog

Personal Furches Web Site


Reviews With Mike

The Virtual Pew Sermons

The Virtual Pew News